Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

GC | AADVA INTRAORAL 3D SCANNER AND CART

Product design of a mobile 3D scanning system for dental practices with the lightest and smallest 3D scanning handpiece on the market.

DESIGN FOR THE SMALLEST AND LIGHTEST INT-RAORAL SCANNERWORKFLOW OPTIMIZED USABILITY AND SCREEN DESIGN
DESIGN FOR THE SMALLEST AND LIGHTEST INT-RAORAL SCANNER
WORKFLOW OPTIMIZED USABILITY AND SCREEN DESIGN

Aadva IOS - Intraoral 3D Scanner

GC Logo

PROJECT TASK

In 2014 the Klagenfurt based company a-tron 3D entrusted us with the task to design a suitable control system for their revolutionary 3D scanning handpiece. The intraoral 3D Scanner, which has been developed by a-tron 3D in record time, is the smallest and most flexible device that is currently available on the market for dental devices.

The system can be easily connected via USB to any computer with the necessary software. Due to the fact that it is an open system, the STL-data can be processed in many CAD programs. The system works based on parallel confocal imaging and captures data without the need to apply scanning powder.

GC-Atron-Cart-design-sketching

The task was to develop the right control unit for this technically superior scanning system. The AADVA Cart was supposed to achieve a high level of movability and flexibility in the clinical daily routine and also to be able to be packed into a compact size for transportation. In order to fulfill those rather contradicting requirements, five different assembly variations have been developed in the concept phase of the project. One of which was picked later as the final design.

During our cooperation a-tron 3D has been acquired by the Japanese GC group, which had consequences especially in the area of corporate design.

Marc Ruta and Jürgen Jesenko at the International Dental-Show (IDS 2015)
Marc Ruta

Your contact partner:
Marc Ruta, project leader
Gelsenkirchen
marc.ruta(at)wilddesign.de

Design - Small, fine and mobile

DESIGN PROCESS

The high level of application competence and decisiveness distinguishes the development team of a-tron 3D from others. Only the smooth collaboration of external design team, internal developers and external production made it possible to finish the development task in record time and in time for the exhibition. The resulting agile development process basically dispenses with extensive presentation and documentation and leads to a direct exchange of information and ideas between the cooperating partners.

This approach made it feasible to fulfill the difficult requirements for the housing components with the mechanically challenging support arm by working together and integrating the standardized components for an ideal complete solution.

PROJECT RESULTS

The innovative product with its clear and brand oriented design language has been introduced as the top innovation at the booth of GC at the International Dental Show (IDS) in Cologne in March 2015.

In order to be able to present worldwide novelties again at the next IDS, the development in different areas is already going on. 

WHAT WAS WILDDESIGNS PART IN IT?

  • Design concept including the movability concept
  • Technical concept with
  • Design development up to the prototype
  • Ergonomics of device operation and GUI
Cradle with heating function
brake and moving pad
transportation lock
on/off button and USB plug

User Interface design

The developing process for the Graphical User Interface (GUI) started very early and parallel to the product design. The application specialists, the programmers and the designers were able to interact very directly due to the enormously agile and effective procedure and could realize an extensive and complex interface in a very short time (6-8 weeks), in time for the IDS 2015 exhibition.

The basis for the new design was given by the detailed outlined wireframes produced by the customer. The first step of WILDDESIGN was to come up with a series of design suggestions and improvement ideas, which could directly be used for further development. The so-called flat design met the contemporary taste and the usability requirements best.

The highly complex range of functions with 3D rendering and camera imaging, surely was one of the biggest challenges, but also different screens for the selection of a tooth necessitated innovative solutions. With an Icon family, developed especially for this application, the intuitive operation and interaction with the handpiece of the 3D scanning system could be optimized even further.

In the time after the IDS additional function extensions and optimizations have been done by our GUI team, so that we could keep up with the good cooperation and help our clients are familiar with.



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

GC | AADVA Intraoral 3D Scanner und Cart

Produktdesign eines mobilen 3D Scansystems für die Zahnarztpraxis mit dem leichtesten und kleinsten 3D-Scan-Handstück auf dem Markt.

Design für den kleinsten und leichtesten Intraoral-ScannerWorkflow-optimierte Usability und Sreendesign
Design für den kleinsten und leichtesten Intraoral-Scanner
Workflow-optimierte Usability und Sreendesign

Aadva IOS - kleinster und leichtester Intraoral 3D Scanner

GC Logo

Projektaufgabe

Im Jahre 2014 hat uns die Firma a-tron 3D aus Klagenfurt mit der Aufgabe betraut, für ihr revolutionäres 3D Scanner-Handstück ein geeignetes Steuerungssystem zu entwerfen. Der von a-tron 3D in Rekordzeit entwickelte intraorale 3D-Scanner ist das kleinste und mobil einsetzbare Gerät, das sich im Moment auf dem Dentalmarkt befindet.

Über einen USB-Anschluss ist das System flexibel an jeden Computer anschließbar, sofern die benötigte Software vorhanden ist. Da es sich um ein offenes System handelt, können die STL-Daten in vielen CAD-Programmen weiter verarbeitet werden. Das System arbeitet nach der parallelen konfokalen Bildgebung und kommt zur Datenerfassung ohne das Aufbringen von Scanpuder aus.

GC-Atron-Cart-design-sketching

Für dieses technisch überlegene System sollte nun das richtige Steuergerät entwickelt werden. Das AADVA Cart sollte gleichermaßen eine hohe Beweglichkeit und Flexibilität im klinischen Alltag erreichen und dabei auf ein kompaktes Maß zu Transportzwecken zu komprimieren sein. Um diese doch recht gegenläufigen Anforderungen zu erfüllen, wurden in der Konzeptphase fünf verschiedene Aufbau-Varianten entwickelt, aus denen direkt das finale Design ausgewählt wurde.

 

Während der Zusammenarbeit wurde a-tron 3D vom japanischen GC Konzern akquiriert, was sich insbesondere im Bereich des Corporate Design niederschlug.

Marc Ruta und Jürgen Jesenko auf der Internationalen Dental-Schau (IDS 2015)
Marc Ruta und Jürgen Jesenko auf der Internationalen Dental-Schau (IDS 2015)
Marc Ruta

WILDDESIGN-Ansprechpartner:
Marc Ruta
, Projektleiter
Gelsenkirchen
marc.ruta(at)wilddesign.de

Usability Test

Design - Klein, Fein und beweglich

Designprozess

Das Entwicklungs-Team bei a-tron 3D zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Anwender-Kompetenz und ebenfalls hohe Entscheidungsfreudigkeit aus. Erst das flüssige Ineinandergreifen von Designteam, internen Entwicklern und externen Gerätefertigern konnte die Entwicklungsaufgabe in Rekordzeit pünktlich zur Messe bewältigen.

Daraus resultierte ein agiler Entwicklungsprozess der im Wesentlichen auf umfangreiche Präsentationen und Dokumentation verzichtete, sondern zu einem direkten und lebendigen Informations- und Ideenaustausch zwischen den Kooperationspartnern führte.

So konnten die teils schwierigen Anforderungen an die Gehäusetechnik mit dem mechanisch anspruchsvollen Tragarm gemeinsam gelöst werden und die standardisierten Komponenten optimal zu einer Gesamtlösung integriert werden.

Projektergebnisse

Das innovative Produkt mit der klaren und markenorientierten Designsprache wurde im März 2015 auf der Internationalen Dental Show (IDS) in Köln als Top-Innovation auf dem Messestand von GC präsentiert.

Auf verschiedenen Gebieten wird nun weiter entwickelt, so dass auch zur nächsten IDS wieder Weltneuheiten präsentiert werden können.

Was war der WILDDESIGN Part?

  • Designkonzept mit Mobilitätskonzept
  • Technisches Konzept mit Integration von Zukaufteilen
  • Designentwicklung zum Prototypen
  • Ergonomie in der Gerätehandhabung und im GUI
Ablageschale mit Heizfunktion
Ablageschale mit Heizfunktion
Brems- und Mobilitäts-Pad
Brems- und Mobilitäts-Pad
Transport-Sperre
Transport-Sperre
on/off Button und USB Buchse
on/off Button und USB Buchse
AADVA Intraoral 3D Scanner Frontansicht
AADVA Intraoral 3D Scanner Rückansicht

User Interface design - bitte lächeln!

Der Prozess zur Entwicklung des Graphical User Interface (GUI) startete sehr früh und parallel zum Produktdesign. In einem überaus agilen und effektiven Verfahren konnten die Anwendungs-Spezialisten, die Programmierer und die Designer auf direktem Wege interagieren und so in sehr kurzer Zeit (6-8 Wochen) ein umfangreiches und komplexes Interface für die Messe IDS 2015 realisieren.

Die Grundlage für das neue Design legte der Kunde durch detailliert skizzierte Wireframes vor. WILDDESIGN setze daraus im ersten Schritt eine Reihe von Gestaltungsvorschlägen mit Verbesserungsideen auf, die direkt in die weitere Entwicklung übernommen wurden. Das so genannte Flat Design traf den Zeitgeschmack und die Ansprüche der Usability am Besten.

Der komplexe Funktionsumfang mit 3D-Renderbild und Kamera-Image war sicherlich eine der größeren Herausforderungen, aber auch verschiedene Screens für die Zahnauswahl erforderten innovative Lösungen. Mit einer eigenen Ikon-Familie, speziell für diese Anwendung entworfen, konnte die intuitive Bedienung und die Interaktion mit dem 3D-Scanner-Handstück weiter optimiert werden.

In der Folge der IDS wurden von unserem GUI-Team weitere Funktionserweiterungen und Optimierungen vorgenommen, so dass wir auch hier in der gewohnt guten Zusammenarbeit helfen konnten.

 



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.