Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

REJOIN I SURGICAL INSTRUMENTS - REINTERPRETED.

Case study about the intensive design partnership over the last 3 years with Rejoin / Mastin Medical, a newly established Chinese sports medical start-up specialising in arthroscopic tools for surgery.

CREATING A GLOBAL SPORTS MEDICINE BRAND

During three years of collaboration with the newly established Chinese medical start-up Mastin / REJOIN, our Shanghai team has developed a completely new and courageous approach in the market for sports medicine implants and non-invasive arthroscopic tools for surgery.

Combining the striking forms of angular ribbing and the enticing depths of translucent magenta, the design language is primarily the result of visionary market insight, collaborative ergonomic research and decisive manufacturing optimisation in regard to getting the most out of injection molding capabilities.

The challenge in creating a global sports medicine brand required WILDDESIGN to look into new ways to create and validate lasting industrial design language within companies. A new and improved guideline was developed in-house to cater for Rejoin’s future growth.

Rejoin needed a strong guideline and industrial design strategy that would enable them to cement themselves within an increasingly competitive marketplace. To find out more, visit Part 1 of The Future’s Non-Invasive, an exclusive 3 part article detailing wider market factors and why Rejoin were in the right place at the right time to capitalise on a booming sports medicine market in China.

TESTIMONIALS

“The product design keeps being strengthened and the design language extended. We now have the confidence and core competencies to face the challenging market with high practicality.” - Mr Xu (Rejoin CEO)

CONTACT PERSON

Quan Shan, Creative Director
Shanghai
quan.shan(at)wilddesign.cn

PRIORITY #1: BOLD BRAND STRATEGY

Brand strategy

IMPLANTING INCISIVE BRAND STRATEGY FROM THE START

During initial brand discussions, WILDDESIGN envisioned Rejoin’s future market position as a dynamic, sports-centric medical brand that would stand out within a crowd of corporate, clinical or more traditional medical companies. Validating this assumption with Rejoin’s development team, perceptual maps were created to help visualise Rejoin’s future position against local and global players. From this initial snapshot, it was clear that colour and form would be our preliminary drivers for design exploration.

IMPLANTING INCISIVE BRAND STRATEGY FROM THE START

DESIGN LANGUAGE

Upon confirming this strategical plan with Rejoin, it was then the task to implement an industrial design language that would give birth to highly functional and enticing arthroscopic tools for surgeons and hospital staff. Our most fundamental task though, would be to fulfil usability and ergonomic requirements for surgeons and hospital staff.

DESIGN LANGUAGE

PRIORITY #2: USABILITY – THE FUNDAMENTAL DESIGN PRINCIPLE

USABILITY

After attending workshops, seminars and product walk-throughs with surgeons to gain an understanding of how each tool worked to heal and fix patient injuries, the WILDDESIGN team honed focus upon the usability issues within the surgeon’s palms and fingertips; in the ergonomic considerations for handles, interfaces or mechanisms that facilitated the preparation and fixation of implants within patients.

Via rapid iterative prototyping, a range of form factors were tested, ending with a handle that was tapered into a rounded pentagonal cross section and that felt ideal when used for its particular surgical application. Further 3D-printing and hand modelling simulated the end plastic texture, enabling more realistic user-scenario tests with latex gloves.

THE FUNDAMENTAL DESIGN PRINCIPLE

FURTHER PROTOTYPING AND TESTING

Trialling ribbing techniques that would allow the reduction of raw material usage, heighten the levels of tactility and lastly, stylistically create a unique product language, the design team tweaked the design to ensure it could be moulded as a single, solid piece. Through dozens of foam and 3D-printed prototypes, the size and space of each hole was defined, bringing the final shape in-line with both design and engineering constraints. A ribbing formula for the next set of tools was also formalised and prepared within the design guideline document ensuring both a comfortable and lightweight tool for the surgeon’s hand whilst cutting material costs for the supplier’s pocket.

FURTHER PROTOTYPING AND TESTING

INJECTING MEANING INTO CMF DECISIONS

INJECTING MEANING INTO CMF DECISIONS

Given the immense sea of traditional products in the market place, the design team were ever more confident to make colour an integral part of the design direction. There was just one last trick to employ - translucency. Visit Part 2 for a deep dive into this part of WILDDESIGN’s design process for Rejoin.

Rejoin-translucency

Multiple refractions bring depth, saturation and visual appeal to the product whilst the visible internal structures of the assembled instrument create an understanding of internal chambers used for dispensing implants and ultimately, aiding arthroscopic procedures. From purely aesthetic considerations, a purple translucent tool lying on a table with a majority of opaque tools, simply stands out, forming a highly attention-grabbing worthy tool for this sports medical segment. Teaming up with specialist medical plastic suppliers, we began selecting the ideal polymers and finishes to bring this consideration into production.

Rejoin - translucency

PRIMED FOR MEDICAL CERTIFICATION

PRIMED FOR MEDICAL CERTIFICATION

To guarantee our designs for REJOIN passed smoothly into the medical market, WILDDESIGN ensured the product was primed for medical certification via working alongside trusted plastic suppliers and REJOIN’s QA team. Since their products would be categorised as Class III medical products, which includes ”high-risk devices usually implanted into the human body or used for life support” the level of scrutiny for how the products would be assessed would be the highest of any medical product.

medical certification

Understanding the time-to-market and a registration time of 14 months, the development teams tested the polymer in moulds to conform to CFDA requirements and create guarantees with 3rd party plastic suppliers, ensuring REJOIN maintained their development schedule and met milestones within their product pipeline. From an executive level, with the vision to make the brand a leader and by using a unique design language as the vessel, we then needed to transfer that language across all future tools, in order to reinforce brand values and give the confidence for global aspirations.

PRIMED FOR MEDICAL CERTIFICATION

NEW & IMPROVED WILDDESIGN EXPERTISE: CIDM

Rejoin CIDM

STRENGTHENING THE BRAND BEYOND LOCAL BOUNDARIES

To achieve REJOIN’s global aspiration, WILDDESIGN redefined a tool within their design armoury, helping to establish a design language that facilitated coherent, highly functional products that competed with larger, more established players. This newly optimised method, compiles all product and user-experience know-how into a digestible, user-friendly manual which acts as both a guide for future developments and an internal company asset. We call it the Corporate Industrial Design Manual or CIDM for short. Find out more via our new CIDM service page...

STRENGTHENING THE BRAND BEYOND LOCAL BOUNDARIES

DESIGN LANGUAGE

The CIDM that we built for Rejoin begins by introducing the brand attributes and values that then lead towards ergonomic prerequisites and an industrial design philosophy. This combination of function and form is then applied and catalogued throughout the manual with such chapters as form, colour, logo placement, material finish and even specific manufacturing processes used to achieve the desired result. Methodically, we ensure the next development is in-line with both the brand and the functional aspects relating to the intended usage of relevant tools, without negating cost and time factors.

The CIDM enabled REJOIN to create a formidable design presence against big global competition. A synergy between both brand and product identities was created that could be called upon throughout any product development process, increasing the efficiency of design phases and creating more coherency for the brand within the market. To find out more on the wider benefits of CIDMs, visit Part 3 of The Future’s Non-Invasive.

DESIGN LANGUAGE

NEXT STEPS: STRONG DESIGN LANGUAGE FOUNDATIONS_

NEXT STEPS: STRONG DESIGN LANGUAGE FOUNDATIONS_

BRAND AND MARKETING SUPPORT

From witnessing the conception of REJOIN to their success within China over the past 3 years, WILDDESIGN shifted professional support towards branding, marketing and sales. With the first series of tools being tested, WILDDESIGN were tasked with the important job to visualise and present them within a flagship product brochure that would be used in meetings with hospitals staff and surgeons. The brochure forms the start of Rejoin’s presence as a new sports medicine brand and whilst it’s just the beginning of this next chapter, it too will morph as we capture customer feedback and shift Rejoin towards grasping their global aspirations.

BRAND AND MARKETING SUPPORT
marketing support

WILDDESIGN recognised the need to control the flow of all printed and digital collaterals from one source. Further graphic and brand support came in the form of exhibition booth designs, packaging and internal corporate collaterals.

FURTHER READING: THE FUTURE’S NON INVASIVE

Jon Walmsley describes this extraordinary project in a detailed three part blog below:

The future’s non-invasive
The future’s non-invasive – Part II
The future’s non-invasive – Part III


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

REJOIN | CHIRURGISCHE INSTRUMENTE – NEU INTERPRETIERT.

Fallstudie über die intensive Design-Kooperation mit Rejoin / Mastin Medical, einem neu gegründeten chinesischen Sportmedizin-Start-up, das sich auf arthroskopische Instrumente für die Chirurgie spezialisiert hat.

EINE GLOBALE SPORTMEDIZINISCHE MARKE ENTWICKELN

Innerhalb von drei Jahren erarbeitete unser Shanghai Team gemeinsam mit dem Chinesischen Start-up Unternehmen Mastin/ REJOIN einen komplett neuen und mutigen Auftritt im Markt der Chirurgischen Einmalinstrumente für die Sportmedizin.

Die kantige Formensprache im magentafarbenen, transluzenten Design ist in erster Linie Ergebnis der ergonomischen Untersuchungen und der fertigungstechnischen Optimierung im Hinblick auf die Spritzgusstechnik. So lässt sich eine optimale Griffigkeit erzeugen, die gleichzeitig zu leichten Instrumenten führt, Materialeinsparung und damit Kostensenkung inklusive.

Um eine hohe Wertanmutung mit der Wiedererkennbarkeit der Marke REJOIN zu koppeln, erstellten wir parallel zur Produktentwicklung eine Design Guideline (genannt CIDM - Corporate Industrial Design Manual), die die Übertragung der Designmerkmale auf neue Instrumenten-Typen leicht macht und so eine hohe Einheitlichkeit im Markenerscheinungsbild sicherstellt.

Rejoin benötigte zunächst einmal starke Leitlinien die ihnen genügend Sichtbarkeit verschafften, um sich in einem zunehmend wettbewerbsintensiven Markt zu etablieren. Um mehr über die Ausgangssituation zu erfahren, lesen Sie Teil 1 von „Die Zukunft ist Nicht-invasiv, einem exklusiven 3-teiligen Artikel, der ausführlich die Hintergründe beschreibt und warum Rejoin zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort war, um von einem boomenden Sportmedizinmarkt in China zu profitieren.

TESTIMONIALS

"Unser Produktdesign ist stark und die Designsprache einzigartig. Wir haben jetzt die Kernkompetenzen und das Vertrauen in sie erworben, um unseren schwierigen Markt mit großer Gewandtheit zu meistern. "- Herr Xu (Rejoin CEO)

ANSPRECHPARTNER

Quan Shan, General Manager
quan.shan(at)wilddesign.cn

PRIORITÄT # 1: KLARE MARKENSTRATEGIE

Brand strategy

VON BEGINN AN MIT EINEM PRÄGANTEN AUFTRITT

Während der ersten Diskussionen über die Rejoin Marke formulierte WILDDESIGN die zukünftige Marktposition von Rejoin als dynamische, sportorientierte medizinische Marke, die sich unter einer Vielzahl von Unternehmen, klinischen oder traditionellen Medizinunternehmen hervorheben sollte. Um diese Annahme mit Rejoins Entwicklerteam zu überprüfen, erstellten wir so genannte Affinity Maps, um die zukünftige Position von Rejoin gegenüber lokalen und globalen Wettbewerbern zu visualisieren. Abgeleitet von diesem ersten Schnappschuss war schnell klar, dass Farbe und Form unsere Treiber für das Design sein würden.

IMPLANTING INCISIVE BRAND STRATEGY FROM THE START

DESIGNSPRACHE

Nach Rejoins okay zu dieser Roadmap war es dann unsere Aufgabe, eine Industrial Design Sprache zu entwickeln und implementieren, aus der einerseits hochfunktionelle und andererseits bestechend ästhetische arthroskopische Werkzeuge für Chirurgen und Krankenhauspersonal abgeleitet werden konnten. Unsere allerwichtigste Aufgabe blieb jedoch die Usability- und Ergonomieanforderungen der Chirurgen und des Krankenhauspersonals zu treffen, besser noch zu übertreffen.

DESIGN LANGUAGE

PRIORITÄT # 2: GUTE USABILITY - DAS FUNDAMENTALE DESIGNPRINZIP

USABILITY

Nach der Teilnahme an diversen User-Workshops, Seminaren und so genannten Produkt-Walk-Throughs mit Chirurgen, um jedes einzelne Instrument wirklich ganzheitlich zu verstehen, konzentrierte sich das WILDDESIGN-Team auf die vorrangigen Usability-Probleme in den Handflächen und Fingerspitzen der Chirurgen.

Mittels Rapid Prototyping in schnellen Iterationen wurden verschiedene Formfaktoren erarbeitet und getestet, die in einem einzigartigen Griffkonzept endeten: ein Griff mit abgerundetem, sich verjüngendem fünfeckigen Querschnitt, der sich in der Hand des Chirurgen ideal anschmiegt und anfühlt. Weiterer 3D-Druck mit zusätzlicher Handmodellierung simulierte die endgültige Oberflächentextur und ermöglichte realistische Tests mit Latexhandschuhen.

THE FUNDAMENTAL DESIGN PRINCIPLE

WEITERES PROTOTYPING UND TESTEN

Zur weiteren Detaillierung wurden Verrippungs-Versuche angestellt, die dabei halfen, den Rohstoffverbrauch zu reduzieren und gleichzeitig die Taktilität erhöhten. Das schaffte schließlich den Durchbruch zu einer einzigartigen Produktsprache auch wenn es noch ein hartes Stück Arbeit für die Designer war, bis das ganze als ein integrales Teil sauber aus der Spritzgußform entformt werden konnte. Durch Dutzende von Schaum- und 3D-gedruckten Prototypen wurden Ausmaß und Position jedes Durchbruchs definiert, wobei die endgültige Form sowohl den Design- als auch den Konstruktionsanforderungen angepasst wurde. Unsere„Rippenformel“ zur schnellen Ableitung weiterer Griffstücke wurde ebenfalls formuliert und in das Design Guideline Dokument aufgenommen, um sowohl ein komfortables und leichtes Instrument für die Hand des Chirurgen zu gestalten als auch die Materialkosten für den Lieferanten zu reduzieren.

FURTHER PROTOTYPING AND TESTING

BEDEUTUNG HINTER DEN CMF-ENTSCHEIDUNGEN

INJECTING MEANING INTO CMF DECISIONS

Angesichts der immensen Flut traditioneller Produkte auf dem Markt, war das Designteam von Anfang an zuversichtlich, Farbe zu einem integralen Bestandteil der Designrichtung machen zu können. Es fehlte nur ein letzter Tick - Transluzenz. Lesen Sie Teil 2 unseres Blogartikels, um einen tieferen Einblick in diesen Teil von WILDDESIGNs Designprozess für Rejoin zu erhalten.

Rejoin-translucency

Rejoin-Transluzenz

Mehrfache Lichtbrechungen bringen Tiefe, Sättigung und visuelle Anziehungskraft in das Griffstück, während die sichtbaren inneren Strukturen des montierten Instruments ein Verständnis des inneren Aufbaus schaffen, die wichtige Hinweise zur Einbringung der Implantate und letztendlich zur Druchführung arthroskopischer Verfahren geben können. Aus rein ästhetischen Erwägungen heraus hebt sich ein purpurfarbenes, durchscheinendes Werkzeug, das auf einem Tisch mit einer Vielzahl von anderen opaken Werkzeugen liegt, einfach ab und bildet ein äußerst aufmerksamkeitsstarkes Sinnbild für diesen sportmedizinischen Bereich. In Zusammenarbeit mit spezialisierten Lieferanten von medizinischen Kunststoffen begannen wir dann, die idealen Polymere und Veredelungen auszuwählen, um dieses Konzept in die Produktion zu bringen.

Rejoin - translucency

VORBEREITET FÜR DIE ZERTIFIZIERUNG

PRIMED FOR MEDICAL CERTIFICATION

Um sicherzustellen, dass unsere Designs für REJOIN reibungslos in den medizinischen Markt gebracht werden können, hat das WILDDESIGN Team eng mit erstklassigen Kunststofflieferanten und mit dem QM-Team von REJOIN zusammengearbeitet. Da es sich um medizinische Produkte der Klasse III handelt, Produkte mit hohem Risiko, normalerweise für implantierbare oder lebenserhaltende Systeme vorgesehen, ist das Prüfniveau für die Bewertung der Produkte extrem anspruchsvoll.

medical certification

Medizinische Zulassung

Mit dem Verständnis des Time-to-Market und einer angestrebten Zulassungszeit von 14 Monaten, testete das Entwicklungsteam das Polymer in Spritzgußformen, um den CFDA-Anforderungen zu entsprechen und Garantien bei den Drittanbietern zu erwirken. Letztlich konnte REJOIN seinen Entwicklungsplan einhalten und die geplanten Meilensteine in seiner Produktpipeline alle erreichen. Aus der Führungsebene heraus kam die Vision, die Marke Rejoin zum Marktführer zu machen und dafür eine einzigartige Designsprache als Transportmittel zu verwenden. Wir durften diese Sprache dann auf alle zukünftigen Instrumente übertragen, um die Markenwerte zu stärken und das Vertrauen in die globale Entwicklung zu verankern.

PRIMED FOR MEDICAL CERTIFICATION

NEUE & VERBESSERTE WILDDESIGN EXPERTISE: CIDM

Rejoin CIDM

STÄRKUNG DER MARKE ÜBER LOKALE GRENZEN HINAUS

Um das globale Ziel von REJOIN zu erreichen, hat WILDDESIGN eine Abteilung aus seinem eigenen Methodenbaukasten neu definiert und dabei geholfen, eine Designsprache zu entwickeln, die kohärente, hochfunktionale Produkte ermöglicht, die mit größeren, etablierten Unternehmen konkurrieren können. Diese neu optimierten Methoden führen letztlich zu einem kompakten Resultat: ein leicht verständliches, benutzerfreundliches Handbuch in dem das gesamte Produkt- und Benutzererfahrungs-Know-how sowohl als Leitfaden für zukünftige Entwicklungen als auch als unternehmensinterner Orientierungspunkt beschrieben ist. Wir nennen es das Corporate Industrial Design Manual oder kurz CIDM. Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere neue CIDM-Service-Seite ...

STRENGTHENING THE BRAND BEYOND LOCAL BOUNDARIES

DESIGN-SPRACHE

Das CIDM, das wir für Rejoin entwickelt haben, beginnt mit der Einführung der Markenattribute und Werte, die dann zu den ergonomischen Voraussetzungen und zu einer Industrial Design Philosophie führen. Diese Kombination aus Funktion und Form wird dann im gesamten Handbuch angewendet und katalogisiert. Dabei werden Kapitel wie Form, Farbe, Logo-Platzierung, Material-Finish und sogar spezifische Herstellungsverfahren beschrieben, um das gewünschte Designergebnis zu erzielen. Methodisch stellen wir sicher, dass die nächste Entwicklung sowohl mit der Marke als auch mit den funktionalen Aspekten im Einklang steht, ohne dabei Kosten- und Zeitfaktoren zu negieren.

Das CIDM ermöglichte es REJOIN, eine beeindruckende Designpräsenz gegenüber dem großen globalen Wettbewerb zu schaffen. Eine Synergie zwischen Marken- und Produktidentität, die während des gesamten Produktentwicklungsprozesses angewendet werden kann, wodurch die Effizienz innerhalb der einzelnen Designphasen erhöht und die Kohärenz der Marke im Markt erhöht wird. Um mehr über die Vorteile von CIDMs zu erfahren, lesen Sie Teil 3 von „ Die Zukunft ist Nicht-invasiv“.

DESIGN LANGUAGE

NÄCHSTE SCHRITTE: STARKES DESIGNSPRACHLICHES FUNDAMENT_

NEXT STEPS: STRONG DESIGN LANGUAGE FOUNDATIONS_

MARKEN UND MARKETING SUPPORT

Beginnend mit der Designkonzeption bis zu Rejoin’s Erfolg in China während der letzten 3 Jahre, verlagerte WILDDESIGN die professionelle Unterstützung immer weiter in Richtung Branding, Marketing und Verkauf. Während die erste Serie von Instrumenten grade klinisch validiert wird, wurde WILDDESIGN bereits mit der nächsten wichtigen Aufgabe betraut: die neuen Instrumente in einer Flaggschiff-Produktbroschüre zu visualisieren und zu präsentieren. Diese soll bei Besprechungen mit Krankenhauspersonal und Chirurgen verwendet werden. Die Broschüre ist der Beginn der öffentlichen Präsenz von Rejoin als neue ehrgeizige Sportmedizinmarke und auch wenn wir erst am Anfang dieses nächsten Kapitels stehen, wird sich das Rejoin-Erscheinungsbild weiter verfeinern, sobald wir Markt- und Kundenfeedback verstanden und implementiert haben.

BRAND AND MARKETING SUPPORT
marketing support

Rejoin erkannte früh die Notwendigkeit, die Vielfalt aller gedruckten und digitalen Kommunikation aus einer Hand zu bekommen. Und so durfte WILDDESIGN weitere grafische und markenbezogene Unterstützung leisten, in Form von Standdesigns, Verpackungen und firmeninternen Unterlagen.

WEITERLESEN: DIE ZUKUNFT IST NICHT INVASIV

Jon Walmsley beschreibt dieses außergewöhnliche Projekt in einem detaillierten dreiteiligen Blog:

Die Zukunft ist nicht-invasiv – Teil I
Die Zukunft ist nicht-invasiv – Teil II
Die Zukunft ist nicht-invasiv – Teil III


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.