CLINOMIC MONA | ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE FOR THE INTENSIVE CARE UNIT

Intensive care in the 21st century demands innovative solutions. Nurses spend 50% of their working hours not at the patient's bedside, but in front of the computer. 50%!

The Aachen-based startup Clinomic tackles the problem with an approach that has never been seen before: at the interface between basic medical research, clinical application, data science and computational intelligence, they brought the WILDDESIGN team in Gelsenkirchen on board for a design which is ready for the market.

INTENSIVE CARE: STATE OF THE ART - DOCUMENTATION: LAST CENTURY?

"MONA, that's Alexa with a PhD," is how Clinomic CEO Lukas Martin sums it up. The modern assistant is Clinomic's first tech-driven product and cannot be compared to standard patient monitors on the market. With artificial intelligence, the system provides support for all problems in documentation and communication in the intensive care unit - and does so right at the patient's bedside

FROM PRACTICE TO DIGITAL STARTUP

Clinomic emerged in 2019 from a cooperation between the RWTH Aachen University and the RWTH University Hospital and it links medical technology with modern technology in an interdisciplinary way. With features that are more familiar in the consumer sector, MONA reduces the documentation effort, facilitates decisions and everyday life in the ICU. Staff can find every important information and clinical measurements collected on one screen in the direct context of the individual patient. The smart assistant can immediately manage what counts at the moment, she responds to voice input, answers and shows the required information on screen with the help of intelligent algorithms.

Clinomic Mona

FROM HUMAN TO MACHINE: MONA, A HUMANOID ASSISTANT?

The customer's starting point and design wish was a humanoid and friendly appearance which should give the system its very own design language and personality. In addition, the system will be attached to the wall with the help of an adjustable monitor arm and "float" in the room while being freely positionable.

But does an AI-controlled system have to resemble a robot-like assistant or look like a classic monitor? It quickly became clear to our team that the solution was neither a cute robot with human features, nor another boring grey box - "artificial intelligence" can also be communicated in a much more subtle way. Therefore, right at the beginning, an idea was developed that visualizes the systematic processes in the system to the outside instead and makes them tangible for the user. With the help of a semi-transparent case front and invisibly integrated LED elements, MONA's "soul" comes to life with pulsating lighting effects while signalling the device status when users make inquiries. Color, light and movement thus provide emotional feedback, uniqueness and recognizability of the product.

Arne Peine

Dr. Arne Peine, Co-Founder und CEO

WHY WILDDESIGN?

We started working with WILDESIGN because we wanted to develop a medical product, an intelligent assistance system for intensive care. At that point, we had a first functional prototype, but it lacked the final stage of turning it into a finished, presentable and functional product.

From the first moment, we benefited from the fact that the design team led the process in a goal-oriented way. It was clearly defined when the design should be ready and in which direction we would go.

Design is crucial for MONA. MONA has two things that are important: One is fitting into the overall context of the ICU. A system that does not fit harmoniously into the orchestra of different devices will not find acceptance in the end. The second point is, of course, usability. The best technology is useless if it is not designed in a practicable way.

WILDDESIGN is usually very fast and above all: the designers are very experienced. This is a combination that is rarely found in this market. It was a successful project and we are absolutely satisfied with the result. I believe that the awards that have been achieved in the meantime speak for themselves.

Clinomic Mona

WHAT WAS THE WILDDESIGN PART?

  • Design concept
  • Detail design
  • Prototype construction
  • Marketing support

WILDDESIGN Team:

Benedikt Glöß, Yunhong Chen, Stefan Bruckmann, Dennis Kulage

Dennis Kulage

Do you want to know more about the design of smart digital products? Or how to speed up the design process?
Contact me!

Dennis Kulage, Project Manager
Gelsenkirchen
dennis.kulage(at)wilddesign.de

TECHNOLOGY THAT COMMUNICATES WITH ALL SENSES

The centrepiece of the operating concept is a centred, 24-inch touch screen, which is surrounded by integrated sensors of the system. These sensors help MONA to see, hear and speak.

Seeing: A 180-degree camera makes telemedicine an implemented experience in the ICU, assisting staff with internal communication and diagnostics. A magnetic-mounted shutter allows the camera to be locked, maintaining patient and staff privacy.

Hearing: The system understands the user's voice and speech anywhere in the room - without the need to learn special voice commands. A large number of microphones ensures optimal recognition of the spoken word. Here, cooperation partner divvoice has worked wonders.

Speech: Information and answers are output via integrated frontal speakers positioned at head height. Users receive direct feedback on their queries and will be informed about critical patient values.

Other innovative features include a radar module that detects movement in the room, an RFID sensor for user authentication and ambient lighting on the back of the case.

Clinomic Mona
Clinomic Mona

DESIGN DEVELOPMENT IN SPRINT

Since the WILDDESIGN team is entering the project quite late in June 2020, it was a sprint until the market launch of MONA. In six months, the design and case construction are created with numerous technical challenges, such as weight reduction and acoustic optimization. The success is also due to the close, trusting cooperation with long-standing partners BYTEC Medizintechnik and Canto, who were responsible for the hardware development and production of the prototype parts. Despite these challenges, after just three months an initial prototype with sheet metal and housing components was built using the rapid prototyping process, on which tests could be carried out and the construction was checked.

By the end of the year, construction and design were completed so that the first series of 20 devices could be finally assembled and shipped to hospitals throughout Europe. And: the intense work on MONA is already bearing fruit, as Mona is very well received by representatives of the medical sector, insurance companies and potential customers. The next series production is already larger by a factor of 10 and it is multiplying quickly.

The Clinomic team was also hoping for a red dot design award for MONA. The result was 2! One for outstanding product design and another one in the Smart Product category. We wish the founding team that the momentum of the design development will continue for a long time and that MONA will become the standard in our intensive care units.

Clinomic Mona
Clinomic Mona red dot award


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

Die Intensivmedizin im 21. Jahrhundert fordert innovative Lösungen. Pflegekräfte verbringen 50 Prozent ihrer Arbeitszeit nicht am Patientenbett, sondern vor dem Computer. 50%!

Das Aachener Startup Clinomic begegnet dem Problem mit einem Ansatz, den es so noch nie gab: an der Schnittstelle zwischen medizinischer Grundlagenforschung, klinischer Anwendung, Data Science und Computational Intelligence holten sie sich das Gelsenkirchener WILDDESIGN Team für ein marktreifes Design ins Boot.

Intensivmedizin: neuster Stand - Dokumentation: letztes Jahrhundert?

“MONA, das ist Alexa mit nem Doktortitel”, bringt es CEO Lukas Martin von Clinomic auf den Punkt. Die moderne Assistentin ist das erste technisch geprägte Produkt von Clinomic und nicht mit marktüblichen Patientenmonitoren zu vergleichen. Mit künstlicher Intelligenz unterstützt das System bei allen Problemstellungen in der Dokumentation und Kommunikation auf der Intensivstation - und zwar direkt am Patientenbett. 

Aus der Praxis zum Digitalen Startup

Clinomic entsteht 2019 aus einer Kooperation der RWTH Aachen sowie der Uniklinik der RWTH und verknüpft die Medizintechnik interdisziplinär mit moderner Technik. Mit Features, die man eher aus dem Consumerbereich kennt, verringert MONA den Dokumentationsaufwand, erleichtert Entscheidungen und den Alltag auf der ICU. Das Personal findet alle wichtigen Informationen und klinischen Messwerte gesammelt auf einem Screen in direktem Kontext des einzelnen Patienten. Die smarte Assistentin kann sofort ausführen, was im Moment zählt, sie reagiert auf Spracheingabe, antwortet und zeigt mithilfe intelligenter Algorithmen die benötigten Informationen auf dem Bildschirm. 

Clinomic Mona

Vom Mensch zur Maschine: MONA eine humanoide Assistentin?

Ausgangspunkt und gestalterischer Wunsch des Kunden war ein humanoides und freundliches Erscheinungsbild, welches dem System eine ganz eigene Formensprache und Personalität geben sollte. Zudem sollte das System mit Hilfe eines justierbaren Monitorarms an der Wand befestigt werden und frei positionierbar im Raum „schweben“.

Doch muss ein AI gesteuertes System direkt an einen roboterähnlichen Assistenten erinnern oder wie ein klassischer Monitor aussehen? Unserem Team war schnell klar, dass die Lösung weder ein niedlicher Roboter mit menschlichen Zügen, noch ein weiterer langweilig grauer Kasten ist - sondern dass „künstliche Intelligenz“ auch deutlich subtiler kommuniziert werden kann. Gleich zu Anfang wurde daher eine Idee erarbeitet, welche stattdessen die systematischen Abläufe im System nach außen visualisiert und für den Nutzer erlebbar macht. Mit Hilfe einer semitransparenten Gehäuse-Front und unsichtbar integrierten LED-Elementen, erwacht MONA's „Seele“ bei Anfragen der Nutzer mit pulsierenden Beleuchtungseffekten zum Leben und signalisiert dabei den Gerätestatus. Farbe, Licht und Bewegung sorgen somit für emotionales Feedback, Einzigartigkeit und Wiedererkennbarkeit des Produktes. 

Arne Peine

Dr. Arne Peine, Co-Founder und CEO

Warum WILDDESIGN?

Wir sind mit WILDESIGN gestartet, weil wir ein Medizinprodukt entwickeln wollten, ein intelligentes Assistenzsystem für die Intensivmedizin. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatten wir einen ersten funktionalen Prototypen, aber es fehlte die finale Phase, daraus ein fertiges, ansehnliches und funktionales Produkt zu machen.

Vom ersten Moment an haben wir davon profitiert, dass das Designteam den Prozess zielorientiert geführt hat. Es wurde klar definiert, wann das Design fertig sein soll und in welche Richtung es geht. 

Das Design ist bei MONA entscheidend. MONA hat zwei Dinge, die wichtig sind: Zum einen das Einpassen in den Gesamtkontext der Intensivstation. Ein System, das sich nicht harmonisch in das Orchester der unterschiedlichsten Geräte einfügt, wird am Ende auch keine Akzeptanz finden. Der zweite Punkt ist natürlich die Usability. Die beste Technik bringt nichts, wenn sie nicht praktikabel gestaltet ist.

WILDDESIGN ist in der Regel sehr schnell und vor allen Dingen: die Designer sind sehr erfahren. Das ist eine Kombination, die man in diesem Markt selten trifft. Es war ein erfolgreiches Projekt und wir sind absolut zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis. Ich glaube, dass die inzwischen erzielten Auszeichnungen für sich sprechen.

Clinomic Mona

Was war der WILDDESIGN Part?

  • Designkonzept
  • Detailentwurf
  • Prototypenkonstruktion
  • Marketing-Support

WILDDESIGN Team:

Benedikt Glöß, Yunhong Chen, Stefan Bruckmann, Dennis Kulage

Dennis Kulage

Wollen Sie mehr über Design von smarten digitalen Produkten wissen? Oder wie man den Designprozess beschleunigen kann? Sprechen Sie mich an!

Dennis Kulage, Projektleiter
Gelsenkirchen
dennis.kulage(at)wilddesign.de

Technik die mit allen Sinnen kommuniziert

Dreh- und Angelpunkt des Bedienkonzeptes ist ein mittig zentrierter, 24-Zoll großer Touch-Screen, welcher von integrierten Sensoren des Systems umschlossen wird. Diese Sensoren helfen MONA zu sehen, zu hören und zu sprechen.

Sehen: Mit Hilfe einer 180-Grad-Kamera wird Telemedizin zum gelebten Alltag auf der Intensivstation und unterstützt das Personal bei der internen Kommunikation und Diagnostik. Ein magnetgelagerter Shutter ermöglicht es, die Kamera zu verschließen und die Privatsphäre von Patient und Personal zu wahren.

Hören: Das System versteht Stimme und Sprache des Anwenders überall im Raum – ohne dass dabei spezielle Sprachbefehle erlernt werden müssen. Eine Vielzahl von umlaufend positionierten Mikrofonen sorgt dabei für eine optimale Erkennung des gesprochenen Wortes. Hier hat Kooperationspartner divvoice wahre Wunder bewirkt. 

Sprechen: Informationen und Antworten werden über integrierte, auf Kopfhöhe positionierte, frontale Lautsprecher ausgegeben. User erhalten direktes Feedback zu Ihren Anfragen oder werden über kritische Patientenwerte informiert.

Zu den weiteren innovativen Funktionen zählen unter anderem ein Radarmodul, das Bewegungen im Raum erkennt, ein RFID-Sensor zur Nutzer-Authentifizierung und die Ambient-Beleuchtung auf der Rückseite des Gehäuses.

Clinomic Mona
Clinomic Mona

Designentwicklung im Sprint

Da das WILDDESIGN-Team recht spät in das Projekt im Juni 2020 einsteigt, wird die Zeit bis zum Market-Launch von MONA ein echter Sprint. In einem halben Jahr entsteht das Design und die Gehäuse-Konstruktion mit zahlreichen technischen Herausforderungen, wie z.B. Gewichtsreduktion und akustischer Optimierung. Der Erfolg ist auch der engen, vertrauensvollen Zusammenarbeit mit den langjährigen Partnern BYTEC Medizintechnik und Canto zu verdanken, welche für die Hardware-Entwicklung bzw. Herstellung der Prototypenteile zuständig waren. Trotz dieser Herausforderungen wurde bereits nach drei Monaten ein erster Prototyp mit Blech- und Gehäuseteilen im Rapid-Prototyping-Verfahren aufgebaut, an dem Tests durchgeführt und die Konstruktion überprüft werden konnte.

Bis Ende des Jahres wurden Konstruktion und Gestaltung abgeschlossen, so dass die erste Serie von 20 Geräten final montiert und an Krankenhäuser in ganz Europa versendet werden konnten. Und: die intensive Arbeit an MONA trägt bereits Früchte, denn Mona kommt bei Vertretern der Medizin-Branche, Versicherungen und potenziellen Kunden sehr gut an. Die nächste Serienproduktion ist schon um den Faktor 10 größer und so wird jetzt schnell hochskaliert.

Das Clinomic-Team hoffte außerdem auf einen red dot design award für MONA. Herausgekommen sind 2! Einer für herausragendes Produktdesign und ein weiterer in der Kategorie Smart Product. Wir wünschen dem Gründerteam, dass der Schwung der Designentwicklung noch lange anhält und dass MONA zum Standard auf unseren Intensivstationen wird. 

Clinomic Mona
Clinomic Mona red dot award


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.