Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

ROTEM® SIGMA: DYNAMIC PROCESS - DYNAMIC FORM

Fast bleeding diagnostics in the POC environmentDesign Concept for existing technical package
Fast bleeding diagnostics in the POC environment
Design Concept for existing technical package

FAST KNOWLEDGE IN ACUTE OPERATIONS

If bleeding in a patient during acute operations or complicated births cannot be stopped, the ROTEM® sigma can deliver knowledge on the specific cause in the shortest amount of time. For the well-engineered technology, the manufacturer Tem International GmbH wanted a new, attractive product design and got the WILDDESIGN team on board.

The ROTEM® sigma consists of a multi-part device hood, a monitor and a monitor arm. While the existing monitor and its arm met the customer's expectations, they were not satisfied with the previous block-like design of the device hood. A new, attractive product design - with the simplest usability and easy cleaning - was supposed to be developed.

ROTEM® sigma

DESIGN DEVELOPMENT IN A FEW WEEKS

Within just a few weeks, the WILDDESIGN team developed four proposals and presented them to the project team. One of the basic requirements was that the existing technical structure should be changed as little as possible in order to leave the proven components inside. Finally, the design "Dynamic" was selected: The characteristic feature here is the beveled front, which gives the device a flowing, dynamic design. A blue stripe in the middle marks the heart of the device and thus clarifies the process flow, as there sits the sample input and the technical core. In this area, the sample tube is inserted into the cartridge with the patient's blood, and then analyzed. 

housing technology with thermoforming process
housing technology with thermoforming process

CREVICE FREE DESIGN - HIGH HYGIENE STANDARD

Since the device is used in the hospital at the point of care (POC) and often used in stressful situations - for example, if the patient's bleeding cannot be stopped during surgery - the hygiene factor plays a major role. What is needed here is a joint-free design that is easy to disinfect and clean. In addition, the area around the front slot is deepened so that blood spilled in hectic situations can drain away.

FULLY AUTOMATIC SAMPLE HANDLING REDUCES OPERATING EXPENSE AND SOURCES OF ERROR

New to the analysis system is the simplified operation. A manual pipetting as in the previous model is no longer necessary, because the device analyzes the blood samples fully automatically. The medical staff will thus be available for other tasks much sooner. The ‘handling’ of the ROTEM® sigma is reduced to the insertion of the cartridge and the reading of the barcode or input of the blood sample. The automatic test selection of the cartridge facilitates the daily routine especially for the new user. Operating effort and possible sources of error are minimal. 

Fully automated
Fully automated
Simple and safe operation
Simple and safe operation

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE PRODUCT:

The ROTEM® sigma is used for major operations, obstetric complications, severe trauma and acute surgery. If there is unexplained bleeding during or after the procedure, the system will provide the necessary hemostasis information. The test tube with the patient’s blood to be examined will be put into the cartridge of the ROTEM® sigma. In less than ten minutes it identifies the cause and is therefore crucial for the further care of the patient.

About the Instrumentation Laboratory / Tem International GmbH:Instrumentation Laboratory (IL) is part of the Werfen Group, a global healthcare company committed to delivering the highest quality in vitro diagnostic products. Since September 2016, the Tem Group and its ROTEM® systems have been forming the Patient Blood Management Business Unit within IL. The ROTEM® systems are developed and manufactured in the headquarters of Tem in Munich. These systems measure the hemostasis status of whole blood samples and thus enable a targeted treatment therapy in acute and massive bleeding situations. The use of RED systems in the POC range directly contributes to improved patient care as well as cost reduction in healthcare.

 

Instrumentation Laboratory Tem International GmbH
Martin-Kollar-Strasse 13-15
81829 Munich / Germany
Tel: +49 89 45 42 95 29
rotem.de

ROTEM Logo
Thomas Ebinger

Thomas Ebinger, CEO of Tem Innovations GmbH: "The ROTEM® sigma had a tight development schedule and the project team did a great job in implementing the requirements. Only the design missed out. Thanks to WILDDESIGN we have received an appropriate design for the ROTEM® sigma, despite an unplanned design phase and without losing time in the project plan.

Markus Wild, CEO of WILDDESIGN: "This project was a sprint project. In cooperation with Tem International GmbH, the timely and uncomplicated coordination processes have led to quick results. Since our cooperation partner Heilemann also took on the challenges in this project and was able to supply us with a housing prototype within only two weeks, we were able to realize our plans during an extremely short project duration. "

Markus Wild

Your contact partner

Markus Wild, CEO
Gelsenkirchen
markus.wild(at)wilddesign.de

Project Management Tem:
Dr. Oliver Kohr (CEO), Holger Chab (Development)

Project Management WILDDESIGN:
Milan Marovac, Tim Meier

Development period:
09-12 to 2013

Launch of the product:
2015

EXTERNAL COOPERATIONS:

KVH Hartung GmbH from Krailling near Munich, plastic manufacturer

Delivered the housing in the particularly efficient negative thermoforming process, which was further developed by KVH Hartung for housing construction. It allows a surface quality so close to the injection molding that a closed housing is no longer recognized as a deep-drawn part. Compared with injection molding, tooling costs of up to 90% can be saved.

Heilemann GmbH from Wilhelmsdorf (Bavaria), metalworking company

Delivered the prototype of the sheet metal chassis and housing within just two weeks.



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

ROTEM® sigma: dynamischer Prozess - dynamische Form

Schnelle Blutungsdiagnostik im POC UmfeldDesign Konzeption für bestehendes technisches Package
Schnelle Blutungsdiagnostik im POC Umfeld
Design Konzeption für bestehendes technisches Package

Schnelle Gewissheit bei Akut-Operationen

Lassen sich während Akut-Operationen oder komplizierten Geburten Blutungen bei einem Patienten nicht stoppen, liefert das ROTEM® sigma innerhalb kürzester Zeit Erkenntnisse über die entsprechende Ursache. Für die ausgereifte Technik wünschte sich der Hersteller Tem International GmbH ein neues, attraktives Produktdesign und holte sich dafür das WILDDESIGN Team an Bord.

Das ROTEM® sigma besteht aus einer mehrteiligen Gerätehaube, einem Monitor und einem Monitorarm. Während der bestehende Monitor und dessen Arm den Vorstellungen des Kunden entsprachen, war er mit der bisherigen blockartigen Gestaltung der Gerätehaube nicht zufrieden. Ein neues, attraktives Produktdesign - bei einfachster Usability und leichter Reinigung – sollte entwickelt werden.

ROTEM® sigma

Designentwicklung in wenigen Wochen

Innerhalb von nur wenigen Wochen erarbeitete das WILDDESIGN Team vier Vorschläge und präsentierte sie dem Projektteam. Zu den grundlegenden Anforderungen gehörte, dass der bestehende technische Aufbau möglichst wenig geändert werden sollte, um die bewährten Komponenten im Inneren zu belassen. Ausgewählt wurde schließlich der Entwurf „Dynamic“: Charakteristisch ist hier die abgeschrägte Front, die dem Gerät ein fließendes, dynamisches Design verleiht. Ein blauer Streifen in der Mitte markiert das Herzstück des Gerätes und verdeutlicht damit den Prozessfluss, denn dort sitzt die Probeneingabe und der technische Kern. In diesem Bereich wird das Probenröhrchen mit dem Blut des Patienten in die Cartridge eingesetzt und analysiert. 

Sigma Gehäusekonstruktion
Gehäusetechnologie im Tiefziehverfahren

Fugenfreies Design - hoher Hygienestandard

Da das Gerät im Krankenhaus am Point of Care (POC) eingesetzt und oft auch in Stresssituationen genutzt wird – wenn beispielsweise während einer Operation die Blutung des Patienten nicht gestoppt werden kann – spielt der Faktor Hygiene eine große Rolle. Gefragt ist hier ein möglichst fugenfreies Design, das sich leicht desinfizieren und reinigen lässt. Zudem ist der Bereich um den frontseitigen Einschub vertieft, sodass Blut, das in hektischen Situationen verschüttet wurde, ablaufen kann.

Vollautomatisches Probenhandling reduziert Bedienungsaufwand und Fehlerquellen

Neu an dem Analysesystem ist die vereinfachte Bedienung. Eine manuelle Pipettierung wie beim Vorgänger-Modell ist nicht mehr erforderlich, da das Gerät die Blutproben vollautomatisch analysiert. Das medizinische Personal steht so schneller wieder für andere Aufgaben zur Verfügung. Das „Handling“ des ROTEM® sigma reduziert sich damit auf das Einsetzen der Kassette und das Einlesen des Barcodes bzw. dem Aufsetzen der Blutprobe. Die automatische Testauswahl der Cartridge erleichtert vor allem dem neuen Anwender den Arbeitsalltag. Bedienungsaufwand und mögliche Fehlerquellen sind dadurch minimal. 

Vollautomatisiert
Vollautomatisiert
Einfache und sichere Bedienung
Einfache und sichere Bedienung

Weitere Informationen zum Produkt:

Das ROTEM® sigma wird bei großen Operationen, Komplikationen in der Geburtshilfe, bei schweren Traumata und Akut-Operationen eingesetzt. Kommt es während oder nach dem Eingriff zu ungeklärten Blutungen, liefert das System die notwendigen Hämostaseinformationen. Dabei wird das Probenröhrchens mit dem zu untersuchenden Blut des Patienten in die Cartridge des ROTEM® sigma eingesetzt. In weniger als zehn Minuten identifiziert es die Ursache und ist damit von entscheidender Bedeutung für die weitere Versorgung des Patienten.

Über die Instrumentation Laboratory/ Tem International GmbH:

Instrumentation Laboratory (IL) gehört zur Werfen Gruppe, einem globalen Unternehmen im Bereich des Gesundheitswesens, das sich dazu verpflichtet hat, in vitro Diagnostikprodukte höchster Qualität zu liefern. Seit September 2016 bildet die Tem Gruppe und ihre ROTEM® Systeme die Patient Blood Management Business Unit innerhalb IL. In der Zentrale von Tem in München werden die ROTEM Systeme entwickelt und hergestellt. Diese Systeme messen den Hämostasestatus von Vollblutproben und ermöglichen somit eine gezielte Behandlungstherapie in akuten und massiven Blutungssituationen. Die Verwendung der ROTEM Systeme im POC Bereich trägt direkt zur verbesserten Patientenbehandlung als auch zur Kostenreduktion im Gesundheitswesen bei.

Instrumentation Laboratory Tem International GmbH
Martin-Kollar-Strasse 13-15
81829 Munich / Germany
Tel: +49 89 45 42 95 29
rotem.de

ROTEM Logo
Thomas Ebinger

Thomas Ebinger, CEO von Tem Innovations GmbH: „Das ROTEM® sigma hatte einen straffen Entwicklungs-
zeitplan und das Projektteam hat ganze Arbeit geleistet in der Umsetzung der Anforderungen. Nur das Design kam etwas zu kurz. Dank WILDDESIGN haben wir trotz einer ungeplanten Designphase ein modernes und ansprechendes Design für unser ROTEM® sigma bekommen und das ganz ohne Zeiteinbußen im Projekplan.

Markus Wild, CEO von WILDDESIGN: „Dieses Projekt war ein Sprintprojekt. In der Zusammenarbeit mit der Tem International GmbH haben uns besonders die zeitnahen und unkomplizierten Abstimmungsprozesse zu schnellen Ergebnissen geführt. Da auch unser Kooperationspartner Heilemann bei diesem Projekt die Herausforderungen angenommen hat und uns innerhalb von nur zwei Wochen einen Gehäuseprototypen liefern konnte, konnten wir eine extrem kurze Projektdauer realisieren.“

Markus Wild

Ansprechpartner

Markus Wild, CEO
Gelsenkirchen
markus.wild(at)wilddesign.de

Projektleitung Tem:
Dr. Oliver Kohr (CEO), Holger Chab (Entwicklung)

Projektleitung WILDDESIGN:
Milan Marovac, Tim Meier

Entwicklungszeitraum:
09-12 bis 2013

Launch des Produkts:
2015

Kooperationen mit Externen:

KVH Hartung GmbH aus Krailling bei München, Kunststoff-Hersteller

Lieferte das Gehäuse im besonders effizienten Negativ-Tiefziehverfahren, das von KVH Hartung für den Gehäusebau weiterentwickelt wurde. Es ermöglicht eine Oberflächenqualität so nahe am Spritzguss herzustellen, dass ein geschlossenes Gehäuse nicht mehr als Tiefziehteil erkannt wird. Gegenüber dem Spritzguss lassen sich dabei bis zu 90 % Werkzeugkosten einsparen.

Heilemann GmbH aus Wilhelmsdorf (Bayern), Metallverarbeiter

Lieferte den Prototyp des Blechchassis und Gehäuses bereits innerhalb zwei Wochen.



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.