Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

LIIMTEC | LAYMAN DEFIBRILLATOR IN HANDBAG FORMAT

During a sudden cardiac arrest, every second counts: If a defibrillator can be used within three minutes, the chances of survival increase by 80 percent. However, as this is usually not tangible, the MedTec startup Liimtec developed a defibrillator for the handbag. The Austrians hired WILDDESIGN to take care of the design of this lifesaver.

Lifesaver always at hand
Lifesaver always at hand

TO BE USED ALWAYS AND EVERYWHERE

The PocketDefi should be light, intuitive, compact and inexpensive. Company founder Jasper Ettema's idea is to give access to this life-saving technology to as many people as possible. The PocketDefi should not only be an integral part of every doctor's kit - patients at risk, police officers, first-aiders in companies or climbers should all be able to easily carry the AED (Automated External Defibrillator) with them.

In addition to size, weight and price, there is another challenge to the developers: The design of the PocketDefi should overcome the psychological hurdle to apply it in an emergency. With a consumer-like design, the product should be clearly different from its competitors, but still be recognizable as a life-saving medical device.

AED (automated external defibrillator)

MINIMALISTIC AND FUNCTION-ORIENTED DESIGN

WILDDESIGN developed a minimalist and function-oriented design for the PocketDefis housing. Without decorative elements, but impressively compact: With dimensions of 8 x 10 x 5 centimeters, the defibrillator is the size of a compact camera, and thus fits in any pocket. At only 300 grams, it can be easily and comfortably carry on longer distances - and thus makes the same life-saving shock delivery as the big defibrillators without compromising on the smallest space. For the designers to achieve this compactness, the electrodes are not laid flat, but curved. The electrodes are located in a separate component that must be unsealed before use. This way, the user can be sure to hold a properly functioning device in his hands.

Lifesaver in handbag format

SAVING LIFE AFTER ANNOUNCEMENT

Safety and user-friendliness were a priority during conception: the shock delivery takes place after analysis of the patient's heartbeat; improper defibrillation is therefore not possible. In addition, a buzzer and speaker give instructions to the user about the behavior during the emergency and minimize the risk of incorrect operation. A light strip and button (RGB LEDs) can change the color and serve as a status indicator.

POCKETDEFI: GUARDIAN ANGEL FOR THE PRICE OF A SMARTPHONE

The PocketDefi is designed for private users and as equipment for every doctor, and is supposed to grant access to the life-saving technology to as many people as possible: in addition to doctors, it should also be accessible to police officers, first responders in companies, climbers, high-risk patients, etc. Connected to the Smartphone, the PocketDefi provides software updates, but also reminders for service and maintenance, to its users. The device can be loaded inductively via a charging station. The PocketDefi is combined with an app that calls the wearers of the three closest PocketDefis in case of emergency - in case your own device should not be at hand. The PocketDefi is currently in the test phase and should be available at a price similar to that of a smartphone starting in autumn 2018. This will be supported with a crowdfunding campaign during October, according to start-up protocol.

ABOUT LIIMTEC

Liimtec is a young MedTec startup from Austria, which aims to reduce the risk of sudden cardiac death by developing mobile lifesavers. The Graz-based company has devised a concept for a handy, user-friendly defibrillator called PocketDefi. With the promise of a grant from the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG), the team around founder and managing director Jasper Ettema secured the budget for the series development.

Liimtec GmbH
Schießstattgasse 5/39
8010 Graz Österreich
contact(at)liimtec.at
www.liimtec.at

liimtec
Jasper Ettema

Jasper Ettema about the cooperation with WILDDESIGN: "The designers at WILDDESIGN have succeeded in giving PocketDefi a professional, aesthetic look. The first conceptual images were already very popular, both internally and in the public, and gave us a big leap in development. "

Marc Ruta, COO of WILDDESIGN: "Jasper Ettema got us excited about his PocketDefi at the Medica. It was a pleasure to be responsible for the design of the world's smallest amateur defibrillator. In addition, it was attractive to be able to support a start-up in the realization of its innovative business idea through the good cooperation with the ambitious Liimtec team."

Marc Ruta

Project management Liimtec:
Jasper Ettema

Project Management WILDDESIGN:
Tim Meier

AED (automated external defibrillator)

AWARDS

  • Double award in the ideas competition 'European Satellite Navigation Competition': "Austria Award" and additionally special prize "GNSS Living Lab" from the European Commission
  • 2nd place at the Elevator Pitch 2016
  • 2nd place in the technology category at the i2B competition of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber and Erste Bank Sparkasse
  • 1st place at the WeAreDevelopers Start-up Pitching Competition 2017
  • World Summit Award Austria Winner in the category Health & Well-Being 2017


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

Liimtec | Laien-Defibrillator im Handtaschenformat

Beim plötzlichen Herzstillstand zählt jede Sekunde: Ist innerhalb von drei Minuten ein Defibrillator zur Hand, erhöhen sich die Überlebenschancen um 80 Prozent. Da dieser in der Regel jedoch nicht greifbar ist, entwickelte das MedTec-Startup Liimtec einen Defibrillator für die Handtasche. Für die Gestaltung ihres Lebensretters holten sich die Österreicher WILDDESIGN an Bord.

Lebensretter immer zu Hand
Lebensretter immer zu Hand

Immer und überall einsetzbar

Leicht, intuitiv bedienbar, kompakt und kostengünstig sollte der PocketDefi sein. Denn die Idee des Unternehmensgründers Jasper Ettema ist es, möglichst vielen Menschen den Zugang zu dieser lebensrettenden Technologie zu ermöglichen. Nicht nur in jedem Arztkoffer soll der PocketDefi zukünftig fester Bestandteil sein - auch Risikopatienten, Polizisten, Ersthelfer in Unternehmen oder Bergsteiger sollen den AED (Automatisierter Externer Defibrillator) mühelos mit sich tragen können.

Neben Größe, Gewicht und Preis stellte sich eine weitere Anforderung an die Entwickler: Das Design des PocketDefi soll die psychologische Hürde überwinden, ihn im Ernstfall auch anzuwenden. In einem consumer-like Design soll sich das Produkt klar von seinen Marktbegleitern unterscheiden, aber dennoch als lebensrettendes Medizinprodukt erkennbar sein.

AED (Automatisierter Externer Defibrillator)

Minimalistisches und funktionsorientiertes Design

WILDDESIGN entwickelte für das Gehäuse des PocketDefis ein minimalistisches und funktionsorientiertes Design. Ohne dekorative Elemente, dafür beeindruckend kompakt: Mit Abmessungen von 8 mal 10 mal 5 Zentimeter bringt es der Defibrillator gerade auf die Größe von einer Kompaktkamera und findet somit in jeder Tasche Platz. Mit nur 300 Gramm Gewicht lässt es sich auch auf längeren Strecken mühelos und komfortabel mit sich tragen – und leistet damit ohne Abstriche auf kleinstem Raum die gleiche lebensrettende Schockabgabe wie die großen Defibrillatoren. Damit die Designer diese Kompaktheit erreichen konnten, werden die Elektroden nicht flach, sondern gekrümmt eingelegt. Die Elektroden befinden sich in einem separaten Bauteil, das vor Gebrauch entsiegelt werden muss. So kann der Anwender sicher sein, ein einwandfrei funktionierendes Gerät in Händen zu halten.

Lebensretter im Handtaschen-Format

Leben retten nach Ansage

Sicherheit und Anwenderfreundlichkeit standen bei der Konzeption an erster Stelle: So erfolgt die Schockabgabe erst nach Analyse des Patienten-Herzschlags; eine unsachgemäße Defibrillation ist somit nicht möglich. Zudem geben ein Buzzer und Lautsprecher dem Anwender Anweisungen über das Verhalten während des Notfalls und minimieren das Risiko falscher Bedienung. Ein Leuchtstreifen und Knopf (RGB-LEDs) können die Farbigkeit wechseln und dienen als Statusanzeige.

PocketDefi: Schutzengel zum Preis eines Smartphones

Der PocketDefi ist für den privaten Anwender, aber auch als Ausstattung für jeden Arzt konzipiert und soll möglichst vielen Menschen Zugang zu der lebensrettenden Technik ermöglichen: neben Ärzten auch Polizisten, Ersthelfer in Unternehmen, Bergsteiger, Risikopatienten etc. Angebunden an das Smartphone liefert der PocketDefi den Anwendern Software-Updates, aber auch Erinnerungen für Service und Wartung. Über eine Ladestation wird das Gerät induktiv aufgeladen. Kombiniert wird der PocketDefi mit einer App, die im Notfall die Träger der drei nächstgelegenen PocketDefis zu sich ruft – falls das eigene Gerät gerade nicht zur Hand sein sollte. Der PocketDefi befindet sich zurzeit in der Testphase und soll zu einem ähnlichen Preis wie ein Smartphone ab Herbst 2018 erhältlich sein. Unterstützend wird ganz im Sinne eines modernen Start-Ups im Oktober eine Crowdfunding Kampagne durchgeführt.

Über Liimtec

Liimtec ist ein junges MedTec-Startup aus Österreich, das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, das Risiko des plötzlichen Herztods durch die Entwicklung mobiler Lebensretter zu reduzieren. Das Grazer Unternehmen hat ein Konzept für einen handlichen, benutzerfreundlichen Defibrillator namens PocketDefi entwickelt. Mit der Zusage einer Förderung durch die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) sicherte sich das Team um Gründer und Geschäftsführer Jasper Ettema das Budget für die Serienentwicklung.

Liimtec GmbH
Schießstattgasse 5/39
8010 Graz Österreich
contact(at)liimtec.at
www.liimtec.at

liimtec
Jasper Ettema

Jasper Ettema über die Zusammenarbeit mit WILDDESIGN: „Den Designern von WILDDESIGN ist es gelungen, PocketDefi ein professionelles, ästhetisches Aussehen zu verleihen. Bereits die ersten Konzeptbilder fanden sowohl intern als auch in der Öffentlichkeit großen Anklang und verschafften uns einen großen Entwicklungssprung."

Marc Ruta, COO von WILDDESIGN: „Jasper Ettema konnte uns auf der Medica auf Anhieb von seinem PocketDefi begeistern. Nicht nur das Design für den weltweit kleinsten Laien-Defibrillator gestalten zu können, hat uns große Freude bereitet. Reizvoll war darüber hinaus, durch die gute Zusammenarbeit mit dem ambitionierten Liimtec-Team ein Start-up bei der Verwirklichung seiner innovativen Geschäftsidee unterstützen zu könnenn.“

Marc Ruta

Projektleitung liimtec:
Jasper Ettema

Projektleitung WILDDESIGN:
Tim Meier

AED (Automatisierter Externer Defibrillator)

Auszeichnungen

  •  Zweifache Auszeichnung beim Ideenwettbewerb European Satellite Navigation Competition: „Austria Award“ und zusätzlich Spezialpreis „GNSS Living Lab“ von der Europäischen Kommission
  • 2. Platz beim Elevator Pitch 2016
  • 2. Platz in der Kategorie Technologie beim i2B-Wettbewerb der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich und Erste Bank Sparkasse
  • 1. Platz bei der WeAreDevelopers Start-up Pitching Competition 2017
  • World Summit Award Austria Gewinner in der Kategorie Health & Well-Being 2017


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.