Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

Eurodont | consumer goods and private-label design

Case Study on a private-label design development using the example of the toothbrush EURODONT Bionic from 2012.

Eurodont Bionic model for M + C SchifferEurodont Bionic model for M + C SchifferEurodont Bionic model for M + C Schiffer
Eurodont Bionic model for M + C Schiffer
Eurodont Bionic model for M + C Schiffer
Eurodont Bionic model for M + C Schiffer

Private Label Design - Oral Care

PROJECT TASK

M + C Schiffer is currently Europe's largest toothbrush manufacturer with a production line of about 1 million brushes per day. Schiffer’s customer Aldi Nord required a new private label design to be developed under the trademark Eurodont to be positioned in the upper price segment of the market.

Product Handling

DESIGN PROCESS

In the analysis phase, the models of competition were studied to show the characteristics of the desired designs in the form of mood boards. The ergonomic factors were examined at hand and simple solid models were used to incorporate physical understanding into the design.

In the creative phase three formal directions were defined and evaluated. The final design was realised as a design model and subjected to further handling tests. Also various toothbrush head designs were developed and studied with respect to the cleaning properties.

In the final design development precise geometries in 3D CAD were generated and provided data for the tool and the 2K-injection procedures.

Short Facts

WHAT WAS THE WILD DESIGN PART?

  • Analysis phase
  • Design Concept
  • Design Development

WILDDESIGN Team

  • Quan Shan
  • Muhan Zhang
  • Oliver Koszel
Markus Wild

Your contact partner

Markus Wild, CEO
Gelsenkirchen
markus.wild(at)wilddesign.de

M+C-Schiffer-design-sketching

DESIGN RESULTS

WILDDESIGN developed a modern consumer goods product that supported the desired positioning in the upscale discounter range ideally.

After the Bionic brush of Aldi Nord 2012 was successfully introduced in about 2500 stores, it was then also to international success - even in neighbouring European countries: France, Denmark, Netherlands, Poland, UK, Spain and Portugal. The sales figures have been developed since the introduction and are positive, so much that the production capacity in future needs to be expanded.

The bristle variations and the cleaning performance were developed jointly with the Ormed Institute at the University of Witten / Herdecke. Here, the new model was examined before the start of production using a 6 axis robot system to test the cleaning performance which was then optimized.

Eurodont Logo
product ergonomics


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

Eurodont | Konsumgüter- und Private-Label Design

Case Study über eine Private-Label Designentwicklung am Beispiel der Zahnbürste EURODONT Bionic aus dem Jahr 2012.

Eurodont Modell Bionic für M+C SchifferEurodont Modell Bionic für M+C SchifferEurodont Modell Bionic für M+C Schiffer
Eurodont Modell Bionic für M+C Schiffer
Eurodont Modell Bionic für M+C Schiffer
Eurodont Modell Bionic für M+C Schiffer

Private Label Design - Oral Care

Projektaufgabe

M+C Schiffer ist aktuell der größte europäische Zahnbürsten-Hersteller mit einer Produktionsleitung von ca. 1 Mio. Bürsten pro Tag. Für den Schiffer Kunden Aldi-Nord sollte ein neues Private Label Design unter der Handelsmarke Eurodont entwickelt werden, welches im gehobenen Preissegment positioniert werden sollte.

Produkt Handling

Designprozess

In der Analysephase wurden die Modelle des Wettbewerbs untersucht und die Merkmale des gewünschten Designs in Form von Moodboards dargestellt. Die ergonomischen Faktoren wurden an Hand einfacher Volumenmodellen untersucht und konnten so ins Design einfließen.

In der Kreativphase wurden drei formale Richtungen definiert und bewertet. Das finale Design wurde als Designmodell realisiert und weiteren Handhabungstests unterzogen. Hier wurden auch unterschiedliche Kopf-Designs entwickelt, die ebenfalls im Hinblick auf die Putzeigenschaften untersucht wurden.

In der abschließenden Designentwicklung wurden exakte Geometrien im 3D-CAD erzeugt und für den Werkzeugbau im 2K-Spritzguss-Verfahren zur Verfügung gestellt.

Short Facts

Was war der WILDDESIGN Part?

  • Analysephase
  • Designkonzeption
  • Designentwicklung

Das WILDDESIGN Team

  • Quan Shan
  • Muhan Zhang
  • Oliver Koszel
Markus Wild

Ansprechpartner

Markus Wild, CEO
Gelsenkirchen
markus.wild(at)wilddesign.de

M+C-Schiffer-design-sketching

Designergebnis

WILDDESIGN entwickelte ein modernes Konsumgüter Design welches die gewünschte Positionierung im gehobenen Discounter Sortiment ideal unterstützte.

Nachdem die Bionic Bürste von Aldi Nord 2012 erfolgreich in etwa 2500 Märkten eingeführt wurde, wurde sie danach auch zum internationalen Erfolg - auch in den europäischen Nachbarländern Frankreich, Dänemark, Niederlande, Polen, sowie UK, Spanien und Portugal ist die Bionic zu haben. Die Verkaufszahlen haben sich seit Einführung durchaus positiv entwickelt, so dass die Produktionsleistung in Zukunft voraussichtlich noch erweitert werden muss.

Die Beborstungsvarianten und die damit verbundene Putzleistung wurden gemeinsam mit dem Ormed Institut an der Uni Witten/Herdecke entwickelt. Hier konnte das neue Modell vor dem Serienstart mittels einem 6 Achs Robotersystem auf die Reinigungsleistung hin untersucht und optimiert werden.

Eurodont Logo
Produktergonomie


 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.