Versatile, robust, modular. heliX®, the further development of the DRX.

"A highly complex technology requires a user-friendly design", says Dr. Frank Fischer of DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS. The biotech company has been a pioneer in the field of laboratory analysis for several years. Now the heliX® has been developed, the technological evolution of the German Innovation Award winner and product of success DRX from 2015. This fully automated laboratory analysis system for the high-precision examination of biomolecules combines liquid handling, chip management and data acquisition for the company's ground-breaking switchSENSE® method. The technology is used in the field of biopharmaceutical research and development and enables researchers from industry and science to analyse molecular interactions and biophysical parameters in real time.

The architecture of the new heliX® instrument combines different technical systems - from sample handling, temperature control and optical recognition to fully automated biochip handling. The challenge of this project was to design a user-friendly housing for highly complex elements.

Who dares wins.

Together with the in-house team of DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS, designers Sebastian Wolf, Niclas Wagner and Sven Dörhage developed the final design concept, out of three design visions presented: a unique appliance front interspersed with a fractal pattern of ribbons of light. Is such an expressive design a risk or rather a promising venture? Modularity and automated processes were the conceptual approaches, that led to the final design. A courageous decision was made. Shortly after the launch, the feedback of the media and the constantly growing interest of customers clearly showed, this decision proved to be an extremely effective one.

heliX® black/white

Testimonial

Dr. Frank Fischer
Head of Engineering / Dynamic Biosensors

To make a good product even better was the approach and thus to take the DRX to a new level of innovation.

Once again, WILDDESIGN inspired us with extraordinary design concepts.

The uncomplicated collaboration that had already been evident in the development of the proFIRE® the year before proved to be extremely successful and goal-oriented in this case as well.

Short distances and uncomplicated coordination rounds were also here an important influencing factor for a fast, convincing result.

Together with WILDDESIGN, we succeeded in developing an automated and expandable system that also makes the processes inside the heliX® visible to the user.

The fractal structure and the sequential illumination of the front, which reflects these very inner processes, give the product a fresh, almost futuristic appearance that underlines the quality and uniqueness of the heliX®. WILDDESIGN provided us not only with a product design for today, but also for tomorrow.

Was war der WILDDESIGN Part?

  • Analysephase
  • Designkonzeption
  • Designentwicklung

WILDDESIGN Team:

Niclas Wagner, Sebastian Wolf, Sven Dörhage

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Sven Dörhage, Büroleiter München
sven.doerhage(at)wilddesign.de

From 96 to 1536. Versatility is key.

To create the perfect balance between individuality and ease of use, the static, minimalist shape of the base body has been enlivened with a fractal pattern of LED luminaires. Light as a way to transport the inherent dynamics of the device to the outside world. The love of detail is what WILDDESIGN has in common with the biotech company. The lighting is much more than decoration. The convincing LED structure on the front side and at the front of the housing is divided into functional zones and provides the user with feedback on the respective process status.

The media loading of samples, microfluidic chips with sensor and the water containers is carried out via automatically controlled flaps, which are integrated into the pattern of the front. The device also allows different methods of measuring the size and adaptation of proteins.

The housing is modular and can detect 96 samples in the smallest version and 1536 samples in the largest version. The fractal pattern was designed to work for a single device as well as for bundles of up to four devices. In addition, these devices can also be connected globally to form a network.

Due to the joint development of the proFIRE® the year before, the teams were already well established and a very effective and fast workflow was created.

Thanks to a very intensive cooperation of the development team of DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS and the WILDDESIGN network, a convincing implementation of the LED illuminated surface on the front was created, which was verified by numerous iterative approaches in model making.

heliX®

Launchtime

Year after year - another result of successful cooperation with DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS. One year after the launch of the proFIRE®, the heliX® was presented at a product seminar in Munich. The feedback was overwhelming and first orders were placed before production had even started. Progressive and certainly demanding in production, but original and unique.

We are incredibly pleased with DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS that their courage to create a disruptive design has generated such enthusiasm in the market. We are looking forward to future cooperation with DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS with more ground-breaking and courageous decisions.



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

Vielseitig, robust, modular. heliX®, die Weiterentwicklung des DRX.

„Eine hochkomplexe Technik benötigt eine benutzerfreundliche Gestaltung“, so Dr. Frank Fischer von DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS. Seit einigen Jahren ist die Biotech-Firma Pionier auf dem Gebiet der Laboranalyse. Nun wurde der heliX® entwickelt, die technologische Weiterentwicklung des Deutschen Innovationspreisträgers und Erfolgsprodukts DRX aus dem Jahr 2015. Dieses vollautomatische Laboranalysesystem zur hochpräzisen Untersuchung von Biomolekülen kombiniert Liquid Handling, Chip-Management und Datenerfassung für die bahnbrechende switchSENSE®-Methode des Unternehmens. Die Technologie findet ihre Anwendung insbesondere im Bereich der biopharmazeutischen Forschung und Entwicklung und ermöglicht Forschern aus Industrie und Wissenschaft, molekulare Interaktionen und biophysikalische Parameter in Echtzeit zu analysieren.

Die Architektur des neuen heliX® Instruments vereint dabei unterschiedliche technische Systeme – vom Probenhandling, über die Temperatursteuerung und optischen Erkennung, bis hin zum voll automatisierten Biochiphandling. Die Herausforderung dieses Projekts lag darin, für diese zum Teil hochkomplexe Elemente eine benutzerfreundliche Gehäusegestaltung zu entwerfen.

Wer nicht wagt, der nicht gewinnt

Gemeinsam mit dem Inhouse-Team von DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS erarbeiteten die Designer Sebastian Wolf, Niclas Wagner und Sven Dörhage aus drei vorgestellten Designvisionen das finale Designkonzept: Eine einzigartige Gerätefront durchzogen von einem fraktalen Muster aus Lichtbändern. Ist ein so expressives Design ein Risiko oder eher ein vielversprechendes Wagnis? Gerade die Modularität und die automatisierten Prozesse waren die konzeptionellen Ansätze, die zur ausgestalteten Formgebung führten. Eine mutige Entscheidung wurde getroffen. Kurz nach dem Launch erwies sich dieser Entschluss als zielführend, wie das mediale Feedback und das konstant wachsende Interesse der Kunden eindeutig belegen.

heliX® black/white

Testimonial

Dr. Frank Fischer
Head of Engineering / Dynamic Biosensors

Ein sehr gutes Produkt noch besser zu machen, war der Ansatz und somit den DRX auf eine neue Stufe der Innovation zu heben.

Auch dieses Mal begeisterte uns Wilddesign mit außergewöhnlichen Designkonzepten.

Die unkomplizierte Zusammenarbeit, die sich schon bei der Entwicklung des proFIRE® im Jahr zuvor gezeigt hatte, erwies sich auch diesmal wieder als äußerst erfolgreich und zielführend.

Kurze Wege und unkomplizierte Abstimmungsrunden waren auch hier ein sehr wichtiger Einflussfaktor für ein schnelles, überzeugendes Ergebnis.

Zusammen mit WILDDESIGN ist es uns gelungen, ein automatisiertes und erweiterbares System zu entwickeln, das dem Nutzer auch die Prozesse im Inneren des heliX® sichtbar macht.

Die fraktale Struktur und die sequenzielle Beleuchtung der Front, die eben diese inneren Prozesse spiegelt, verleihen dem Produkt ein frisches, fast futuristisches Erscheinungsbild, dass die Qualität und Einzigartigkeit des heliX® unterstreicht. Somit lieferte uns WILDDESIGN nicht nur ein Produktdesign für heute, sondern auch für morgen.

Was war der WILDDESIGN Part?

  • Analysephase
  • Designkonzeption
  • Designentwicklung

WILDDESIGN Team:

Niclas Wagner, Sebastian Wolf, Sven Dörhage

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Sven Dörhage, Büroleiter München
sven.doerhage(at)wilddesign.de

From 96 to 1536. Versatility is key.

Um die perfekte Balance zwischen Indiviualität und Bedienungsfreundlichkeit zu schaffen, wurde die statische, minimalistische Form des Grundkörpers mit einem fraktalen Muster von LED Leuchten belebt. Licht als Möglichkeit, die dem Gerät innewohnende Dynamik, nach außen zu transportieren. Auch wir von WILDDESIGN teilen mit unserem Kunden die Liebe zum Detail. Die Beleuchtung ist keines Falls nur Dekoration. Die überzeugende LED Struktur auf der vorderen Seite und die in funktionale Zonen unterteilte Front des Gehäuses, geben dem User Feedback zum jeweiligen Prozessstatus.

Die Medienzuladung von Proben, Microfluidigchips mit Sensor und den Wasserbehältern erfolgt über automatisch gesteuerte Klappen, die in die Musterung der Front integriert sind. Das Gerät ermöglicht zudem unterschiedliche Messmethoden der Größe und Anpassung von Proteinen.

Das Gehäuse ist modular aufgebaut und kann in der kleinsten Version 96 und in der größten Version 1536 Samples detektieren. Es galt das fraktale Muster so auszulegen, dass es für ein Einzelgerät ebenso funktioniert, wie für Bundles von bis zu vier Geräten. Zusätzlich lassen sich diese Geräte auch global zu einem Netzwerk zusammenschließen.

Durch die gemeinsame Entwicklung des proFIRE® im Jahr zuvor, waren die Teams bereits eingespielt und es entstand ein sehr effektiver und schneller Projektablauf.

Dank einer sehr intensiven Kooperation des Entwicklungsteams von DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS und dem WILDDESIGN Netzwerk, entstand eine überzeugende Umsetzung der LED Leuchtfläche auf der Front, die durch zahlreiche iterative Annäherungen im Modellbau überprüft wurden.

heliX®

Launchtime

Alle Jahre wieder - ein weiteres Resultat gelungener Zusammenarbeit mit DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS. Ein Jahr nach dem Launch des proFIRE®, wurde der heliX® im Rahmen eines Produktseminars in München vorgestellt. Das Feedback war überwältigend und erste Bestellungen trafen bereits vor Produktionsbeginn ein. Progressiv, sicherlich anspruchvoll in der Fertigung, aber orginell und einzigartig.

Wir freuen uns sehr mit DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS, dass der Mut zu einem disruptiven Design auf dem Markt derartige Begeisterung erzeugt hat. Wir freuen uns schon auf zukünfige gemeinsame Projekte mit der Firma DYNAMIC BIOSENSORS und mit weiteren wegweisenden, mutigen Entscheidungen.



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.