CELSIUS42 | TUMOR CELL SOLUTION – REBRANDING

Case study about the intensive cooperation with Celsius42 GmbH, a not very young company, which rekindled its start-up feeling within a few months.

Celsius 42 and its noble cause

Battling cancer requires many efforts on diverse levels in the medical field. Even the incremental steps are of utmost importance. The hyperthermia – heat inducing treatment of tumor cells - is a great advancement with a potential to change and significantly improve the ways in which we approach one of the deadliest killers today. The hyperthermia-based-theraphy CELSIUS TCS is a creation of our partners Bytec Medizintechnik GmbH and we are proud to have worked on its development for over 12 years. The abbreviation TCS stands for “Tumor Cell Solution” and the people working at Celsius42 have a clear goal - to finally beat the cancer together with the patients.

The product was designed in 2005/2006 and is based on a simple, but effective method of manipulating bodily temperature to complement and amplify effects of chemo- and radiation therapy. The principle is called hyperthermia. In modern medicine 1970ies where the benchmark when the research field started to increasingly grow. Hyperthermia is from then on widely recognized as a beneficial complimentary cancer treatment technique.

How does CELSIUS TCS works?

The Tumor Cell Solution draws on the serious body of work that has proven, both theoretically and practically, that by inducing heat and stimulating the blood circulation and oxygenation of the tumor cells cytotoxic agents are absorbed more easily without negatively affecting the healthy tissue around the area. Additionally, by sensitizing the tumor cells via heat they become more receptive to radiation.

The method of inducing artificial fever through hypothermia is in medical use for quite some time now. However, the noticed drawback of previous methods using the same principle was that usually heat was induced via whole beds equally spreading throughout the whole body. The method was proved to be strenuous and unpleasant for the patients. The experts at Celsius42 found a way to combat this problem and have produced a High-Tech product working on a principle of localized heat induction. The two non-invasive electrodes raise the temperature exclusively in the tumor region.

Most importantly The Tumor Cell Solution works in tune with the body`s natural intelligence by raising the immune system response, which in turn hinders the further spreading of cancer but also improves the overall health.

Celsius 42 Logo
Christian Hartmann
Christian Hartmann/CEO Celsius42

The achievements and the future

We are happy to have helped in improving the corporate identity which conditioned better and greater awareness of Celsius42 that it always deserved. The overall newly remodeled corporate design has helped in heightening the self-confidence and identity that Celsius42 now reflects.

However, we are not stopping there. Christian Hartmann, together with us, is rightfully convinced in the benefits of TCS and wants to make it internationally visible. The first steps have been undertaken. For example, the hyperthermia handbook detailing the benefits of the method is translated in English and Korean.

In addition, Christian Hartmann is looking into launching the business hubs in Korea and Middle East where he believes the TCS will have great successes. 

Oliver Koszel

CONTACT PERSON

Oliver Koszel, Creative Director
Gelsenkirchen
oliver.koszel(at)wilddesign.de

What was our role?

The new CEO Christian Hartmann reached out to us after we have designed the product 12 years ago. He needed help rebranding it after it stood on the market undeservedly unnoticed. As we were convinced in the potential of the product we have helped Celsius42 relaunch its brand in only a couple of months. Starting at the end of 2017 Oliver Koszel and his team, together with Christian Hartmann set out to relaunch the enhanced and more handsome version of Celsius42.

To reach the visibility the product is supposed to achieve on the market, we have designed the new logo, letterhead, corporate design, leaflets, the webpage, tradeshow booth and the accompanying GUI. The goal was to create a modern, coherent and most importantly recognizable brand to facilitate the communication with both patients and medical experts who were the target group. However, we wanted to communicate emotions and potential rather than focus on the technicalities of the product itself.

Tradeshow

One of our most important goals is to communicate the importance of the product with a wide number of people working in the medical field. We have, therefore, created a fair boot equipped with promo-material. The whole booth and accompanying material follow the design and the color scheme of the product.

The modernized and comfortably designed booth was set up at the Medica Tradeshow in Düsseldorf where it gained a considerable amount of attention. We will do the same in 2019.

We have, additionally, created RollUp Displays and counters - all fitting to the newly established corporate identity. They were all presented at different conferences that did not allow for bigger booths.

The new CELSIUS42 Webpage

The target group we had in mind when developing the Webpage, were patients searching for different cancer treatment methods, alongside medical professionals. The page was previously targeting medical experts exclusively. Our goal was to create a transparent and lucid page that presented both the benefits of hyperthermia itself and TCS and is understandable for people who are not medical experts, but potential patients.

The whole design revolves around the already established color-scheme fitting to the visual identity of the product. We wanted to allow for the visitors not to feel fear or be overwhelmed while inhabiting the virtual space of TCS. The visitors should feel safe, all the while still thoroughly informing themselves about the benefits of the technique of localized artificial fever the TCS is inducing.

The overall presence and visibility of Celsius42 is greatly improving, with the product already establishing a sort of fan base on social media sites such as Facebook. The Webpage, naturally, plays a very important role in building the trust around TCS and Celisus42.

GUI-Styleguide

In designing the fitting GUI we have focused on making it as fool-proof and intelligible as possible. Our focus was the creation of an enhanced Icon-Family. We have, therefore, adjusted all the button sizes and icon sizes to thoroughly fit the user needs when handling the machine.

Additionally, the aesthetic and style of it were an integral part in our designing process. Every single page was made to fit one another. The whole styleguide corresponds to the color scheme of the corporate identity we have designed.

Graphical User Interface (GUI)

Our task was to improve the previously keyboard and mouse operated GUI into a modern one featuring a touchscreen.

The GUI that comes with the TCS is separate from the machine itself. The system is centrally operated and contains a software that is storing data in a completely safe manner. Together with the programmers from Celsius42 we have designed the software to store all the patient`s data and their previous medical history at one place. This makes it significantly easier for the doctor to make therapy decisions based on the individual`s needs.

Our job was focused on testing GUI`s functionality and improving it. We have detected the parts in which the operation was not intuitive enough and by focusing on them we have improved the general usability. Our team analyzed and revised the operating concept so that it meets the highest quality standards. The system uses an easy-to-follow flowchart method.

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.

CELSIUS42 | TUMOR CELL SOLUTION – REBRANDING

Fallstudie über die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit der Celsius42 GmbH, einem nicht mehr ganz jungen Unternehmen, welches sein Start-Up Feeling innerhalb weniger Monate wieder entfachte.

Celsius42 - für die gute Sache!

Krebsbekämpfung erfordert großen Einsatz auf allen Ebenen - jeder einzelne Schritt ist dabei von größter Bedeutung. Die Hyperthermie – also die thermische Behandlung der Tumorzellen - ist dabei ein großer Fort-Schritt und wird die Art und Weise, wie wir einem der tödlichsten Killer heute begegnen, verändern und signifikant verbessern. Das Hyperthermie-Behandlungs-System CELSIUS TCS ist eine Kreation unseres Partners Bytec Medizintechnik GmbH und wir hatten die große Freude, vor über 12 Jahren an der Gestaltung des Systems mitzuwirken. Der Kürzel TCS steht für „Tumor Cell Solution“ und die Mitarbeiter von Celsius42 haben damit ein klares Ziel vor Augen: gemeinsam mit den Patienten den Krebs zu besiegen. 

Das Celsius TCS System wurde in den Jahren 2005 /2006 entwickelt und basiert auf einer einfachen, aber effektiven Methode zur Regelung der Körpertemperatur, um die therapeutischen Effekte der Chemo- und Strahlentherapie zu ergänzen und zu verstärken. Das Prinzip heißt Hyperthermie. In der modernen Medizin gelten die 1970er Jahre als Maßstab, als das Forschungsfeld sich entwickelte. Hyperthermie ist seither anerkannt als sinnvolle, komplementäre Krebsbehandlungsmethode. 

Das Celsius TCS System

Durch Wärmeeinbringung, sowie Stimulierung der Durchblutung und Sauerstoffversorgung der Tumorzellen können zytotoxische Wirkstoffe leichter aufgenommen werden, ohne das gesunde Gewebe um den Tumor herum negativ zu beeinflussen. Darüber hinaus werden die Tumorzellen durch den Wärmereiz empfindlicher für Strahlung und unterstützen damit die Wirkungsweise der Strahlentherapie.

Der deutliche Nachteil früherer Hyperthermie-Systeme war, dass die Wärme in der Regel über ganze Betten induziert wurde, die auf 40 Grad erhitzt wurden. Die Temperaturerhöhung des gesamten Körpers war belastend und unangenehm für die Patienten. Die Ingenieure hinter dem Celsius TCS fanden einen Weg, dieses Problem zu lösen und entwickelten ein High-Tech-Gerät, das mit lokaler Wärmeeinbringung arbeitet. Die beiden nicht-invasiven Elektroden erhöhen die Temperatur ausschließlich im Tumorbereich. 

Am wichtigsten ist, dass das TCS System im Einklang mit der natürlichen Intelligenz des Körpers steht, indem es die Immunabwehr erhöht, was möglicherweise die weitere Ausbreitung des Krebs behindert, aber auch zu einer allgemeinen Verbesserung der Gesundheit führen kann.

Celsius 42 Logo
Christian Hartmann
Christian Hartmann/CEO Celsius42

Bisherige Erfolge und die Zukunft

Wir freuen uns, dass wir Christian Hartmann dabei unterstützen konnten, die Identität des Unternehmens Celsius 42 zu verbessern und sie auf ein Level zu heben, das es immer verdient hat. Das gesamte Corporate Design hat enorm dazu beigetragen, das Selbstvertrauen und die Identität von Celsius42 zu stärken.

Doch damit nicht genug. Christian Hartmann ist zusammen mit uns zu Recht von den Vorteilen von TCS überzeugt und will es international sichtbar machen. Die ersten Schritte sind unternommen. So wird beispielsweise das Hyperthermie-Handbuch grad ins Englische und Koreanische übersetzt und Christian Hartmann prüft die Gründung von Vertriebszentren in Korea und im Mittleren Osten, wo er große Erfolge für das TCS erwartet. 

Oliver Koszel

WILDDESIGN-Ansprechpartner

Oliver Koszel, Creative Director
Gelsenkirchen
oliver.koszel(at)wilddesign.de

Was war unsere Rolle?

Der neue CEO Christian Hartmann wandte sich 12 Jahre nach unserer ersten Designarbeit am TCS an uns und überzeugte uns von seinen aktuellen Zielsetzungen. Innerhalb weniger Monate schafften wir den neuen Unternehmensauftritt rund um das redesignte TCS System. Ab Ende 2017 machten sich Oliver Koszel und sein Team zusammen mit Christian Hartmann daran, die attraktivere und zeitgemäße Version von Celsius42 zu entwickeln.

Um die gewünschte Aufmerksamkeit für das Produkt zu erreichen, haben wir neues Logo, Claim, Corporate Design, Broschüren, Webseite, Messestand und das zum TCS System gehörige GUI (Graphical User Interface) gestaltet. Ziel war es, eine moderne, stimmige und vor allem wiedererkennbare Marke zu schaffen, die die Kommunikation mit Patienten und Ärzten erleichtert. Wir wollten jedoch eher Emotionen vermitteln und uns nicht so sehr wie bisher auf die technischen Details des Produkts konzentrieren. 

Messestand

Da wir die Wichtigkeit des Produkts einer großen Anzahl von Menschen vorstellen wollten, die im medizinischen Bereich arbeiten, haben wir einen Messestand mit Werbematerial entwickelt. Der gesamte Stand und das Begleitmaterial folgten dem Design und der Farbgebung des Produkts. 

Der modernisierte und komfortabel gestaltete Stand wurde unter anderem auf der Medica 2018 in Düsseldorf aufgebaut, und im Jahr 2019 soll sich die Fläche und die Wirkung noch einmal multiplizieren. Darüber hinaus haben wir ein RollUp Display und eine Theke entwickelt, die alle der neuen Corporate Identity entsprechen und auf Konferenzen eingesetzt wurden, die keine größeren Stände zuließen.

Neue Celsius42 Webseite

Die neue Website wurde für eine neue Zielgruppe entwickelt: für die Patienten, die sich als Betroffene sehr intensiv über die verschiedenen Methoden der Krebsbehandlung informieren. Vorher wandte sich die Webseite ausschließlich an Mediziner und Experten und war dementsprechend weniger emotional gehalten. Wir wollten eine offene und übersichtliche Webseite erstellen, die sowohl die Vorteile der Hyperthermie selbst als auch des TCS vorstellte. 

Das gesamte Webdesign nutzt die etablierte orange-graue Farbgebung, die perfekt zur visuellen Identität des Produkts passt. Wir wollen es den Besuchern ermöglichen, sich an diesem virtuellen Ort so sicher wie möglich zu fühlen und sich gründlich über die Vorteile der lokalen Hyperthermie zu informieren.

Die allgemeine Präsenz und Sichtbarkeit von Celsius42 verbesserte sich durch das Zusammenspiel von neuer Webseite und Social Media sehr schnell, da das Produkt bereits eine Fangemeinde auf Social-Media-Seiten wie Facebook hatte. Die Webseite spielt in der Kommunikation trotzdem immer noch die wichtigste Rolle zum Aufbau von Vertrauen für Celsius42 und das TCS. 

GUI-Styleguide

Bei der Gestaltung des passenden GUI haben wir uns darauf konzentriert, es so fehlersicher und verständlich wie möglich zu gestalten. Unser Fokus lag dabei auf der Gestaltung einer aussagekräftigen Ikon-Familie. Deshalb haben wir alle Tastengrößen und Symbolgrößen so angepasst, dass sie beim Umgang mit dem Gerät perfekt passen. Darüber hinaus waren die Ästhetik und der Stil ein wesentlicher Bestandteil unseres Designprozesses. Jede einzelne Bedien-Seite wurde so gestaltet, dass sie zum Ganzen passt. Der gesamte GUI-Styleguide basiert auf der Farbgebung der von uns gestalteten Corporate Identity. 

Grafische Benutzeroberfläche (GUI)

Unsere Aufgabe war es, das bisher tastatur- und mausgesteuerte GUI zu modernisieren und über einen Touchscreen zu steuern. 

Das GUI, das mit dem TCS geliefert wird, ist vom Gerät physisch getrennt. Das System wird zentral betrieben und enthält eine Software, die Daten absolut sicher speichert. Zusammen mit den Programmierern von Celsius42 haben wir die Software entwickelt, um alle Patientendaten und die bisherige Krankengeschichte an einem Ort zu speichern. Damit wird es für den Arzt deutlich einfacher, Therapieentscheidungen auf der Grundlage der individuellen Bedürfnisse zu treffen. 

Unsere Aufgabe war es, die Funktionalität des GUI zu verbessern und zu testen. Wir konnten die Bereiche identifizieren, in denen die Bedienung nicht intuitiv genug war, und konnten so die allgemeine Benutzerfreundlichkeit verbessern. Unser Team analysierte und überarbeitete den Workflow, um die einfachste Bedienung herauszuarbeiten.

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI

  • Celsius 42 GUI



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?

×

Get our chinese newsletter

Want the latest and greatest from our blog straight to your inbox? Simply sign up!


×

Newsletter registration

We have sent you an email with confirmation link.
Please also check the spam folder.