Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

TARGET GROUPS (DESIGN FACTOR 10/24)

Market Segments, Consumer Groups, "Voice of the consumer ", Users

The first design factor under the heading of The Brand brings us a step closer to the consumer. It's all about the similarities that connect customers, consumers and users. These similarities make them so called target groups, groups of people, to which the brand aligns its product and communications.

At least one, but usually several target groups can be distinguished in order to draw closer to the fundamental question of: Who actually buys my products? The segmentation breaks down according to the difference of purchase motives and nature of the interaction with that consumer group. It is not about making tiny and precise subdivisions, but a clear number of a few main groups. If the size of the target group becomes too narrow the approach often runs the risk of becoming unmanageable.

An effective means to better visualize the target group, is through so called Personas. Developing personas helps to give the target group a personality. A personality defined by real human characteristics, habits, environmental data, and even a name and picture. This changes the target group from an Excel spreadsheet to an almost tangible person with feelings and predictable behaviours.

Speaking of behaviour: Who is it that really buys the product? Is it as expected the user or are there others who participate in or even dictate the purchase decision. Many products are used as gifts or are purchased for a B2B sector by designated buyers. Not only who but why do the buyers buy what they buy? What plays a role in the final decision, is it based on recommendation and if so who is making these recommendations?

In the era of open communication between customer and brand it also plays a massive role whether the customer is heard, or is feeling heard. The voice of the consumer is not only a great inspiration and source of innovation for new developments and improvements. The consumer is also a vehicle for communicating the product and brand to others. In social media, what used to take a long time to dissipate now spreads like wild fire. Positive or negative feedback to a product or brand are shared at an astronomical rate. A careful dialogue must be undertaken to maximise this communication tool or on the flip side to manage this risk.

 

-> Back to overview

-> More information on the methodology behind the 24 design factors

Image source: Shutterstock, WILDDESIGN

The WILDCARDS and 24 design factors are copyrighted (Author Markus Wild , copyright number 1539098).



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Interested in regular exciting WILDDESIGN updates? Simply sign up for our newsletter …

Left Menu Icon
Right Menu Icon

ZIELGRUPPEN (Designfaktor 10/24)

Marktsegmente, Käufer-Gruppen, „Stimme des Verbrauchers“

Der erste Designfaktor unter dem Diktat der Marke führt uns näher zum Kunden. Es geht um die Gemeinsamkeiten, die alle Kunden, Verbraucher und Nutzer verbinden. Diese Gemeinsamkeiten machen sie zu Zielgruppen, Gruppen von Menschen, auf die sich die Marke mit ihren Produkten ausrichtet.

Mindestens eine, meistens mehrere Zielgruppen werden unterschieden, um der Frage näher zu kommen: Wer kauft eigentlich meine Produkte? Die Segmentierung erfolgt hierbei nach Verschiedenheit von Kaufmotiven und Art der Ansprache; es geht nicht darum, eine möglichst feine und genaue Unterteilung vorzunehmen, sondern eine übersichtliche Anzahl von wenigen Haupt-Gruppen - ansonsten sind die Unterschiede im Marketing-Alltag nicht mehr zu managen.

Ein probates Mittel, um sich die Zielgruppe besser vorzustellen, sind die so genannten Personas. Hier wird entsprechend jeder Zielgruppe ein oder mehrere virtuelle Personenprofile entwickelt, und mit allen menschlichen Eigenschaften, Gewohnheiten, Umfelddaten, Namen und einem Portraitbild dargestellt. So wird aus einer Excel Tabelle eine fast lebendige Person mit Vita und zu erwartendem Verhalten.

Apropos Verhalten: Wer kauft das Produkt wirklich ein? Ist es, wie zu erwarten der Nutzer, oder gibt es Andere, die an der Kaufentscheidung mitwirken, bzw. diese komplett übernehmen - sozusagen die „heimlichen Käufer“. Viele Produkte dienen als Geschenke oder werden im B2B Bereich von einem Einkäufer besorgt. Und warum kauft die Zielgruppe? Spielt Weiterempfehlung eine Rolle und welche Gruppen betätigen sich als Empfehler?

Im Zeitalter der offenen Kommunikation zwischen Kunden und Marke spielt es auch eine Rolle, ob der Kunde gehört wird, bzw. sich gehört fühlt. Die Stimme des Verbrauchers ist nicht nur eine gute Inspirations- und Innovationsquelle für Neuentwicklungen und Verbesserungen. Hier geht es auch um Empfehlungsmanagement. In den sozialen Medien, wo positive oder negative Empfehlungen leicht von Mund zu Mund gehen, heißt die Gefolgschaft neudeutsch Community und umfasst sicher ein Bündel von verschiedenen Individuen. Derzeit steht noch die Tatsache im Vordergrund, dass diese Menschen der Marke folgen (Follower), aber schon bald wird auch hier präziser segmentiert - in „Audience-Segmenten“.

 

<- vorheriger -> zurück zur Übersicht -> zum nächsten Designfaktor

-> mehr Informationen über die Methodik 24 Designfaktoren

Image source: Shutterstock, WILDDESIGN

Die WILDCARDS sowie die 24 Designfaktoren sind urheberrechtlich geschützt (Urheber Markus Wild, Urhebernummer 1539098).



 
 
 
 
 

Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
RSS Feed
Pinterest
Instagram

Newsletter

Wünschen Sie regelmäßige Infos über WILDDESIGN und Innovationen aus der Branche?